Hall of Fame to Stream U.S. Army-Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence Program Live


The Pro Football Hall of Fame will give football fans behind-the-scenes access to Gold Jackets (living Hall of Famers) live for the first time during the U.S. Army-Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence program.
The ceremony will be streamed in real time on the Hall of Fame’s Facebook account on Monday, April 11 at 2 PM ET. Former Green Bay Packers and Buffalo Bills wide receiver James Lofton will honor high school athlete Olivia Truscott in Iron Mountain, Mich. at Truscott’s high school in front of her peers.
The program, now in its fourth year, highlights the achievements of student-athletes across the country.
The U.S. Army and the Pro Football Hall of Fame recently announced the 20 high school athlete finalists for the Award for Excellence. The 20 student-finalists are being recognized and presented a plaque by Gold Jackets during formal ceremonies at their schools. Seven students have already been honored in Colorado, Florida, New York and Missouri. Mike Haynes, Floyd Little, Kevin Greene and Aeneas Williams are some of the iconic players who have served as presenters this year.
The remaining programs will also be streamed in real time on Facebook Live. See the full schedule below:
April 11 - James Lofton (2 PM)
April 12 - Anthony Munoz (1:45 PM)
April 14 - Derrick Brooks (9:30 AM)
April 15 - Anthony Muñoz (1:10 PM)
April 18 - Darrell Green (9:30 AM)
April 20 - Darrell Green (10:30 AM)
April 21 - TBD
April 22 - James Lofton (10 AM)
April 25 - Anthony Muñoz (TBD)
April 27 - Mike Haynes (11:50 AM)
May 9 - TBD
May 11 - TBD
May 13 - Derrick Brooks (9 AM)
Each U.S. Army-Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence finalist will be honored in Canton during the 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend this summer. The finalists will be hosted at a special luncheon at the Hall on Saturday, Aug. 6, at which the winner will be announced. All 20 finalists will attend the 2016 Enshrinement Ceremony of the Class of 2016 – Edward DeBartolo, Jr. Tony Dungy, Brett Favre, Kevin Greene, Marvin Harrison, Orlando Pace, Ken Stabler and Dick Stanfel. The Enshrinement, held at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium, is nationally televised on ESPN and the NFL Network. The finalists and winner will receive special recognition during the telecast. The weekend celebration will be capped off when the Award for Excellence finalists and their guests attend the NFL’s preseason opener between the Indianapolis Colts and Green Bay Packers in Canton on Sunday, Aug. 7.

Back to news