Modern Era Coaches in the Pro Football Hall of Fame


Modern Era Coaches in the Pro Football Hall of Fame

George Allen is the 12th modern-era head coach elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. As coach of the Los Angeles from 1966-1970 and the Washington Redskins from 1971-1977, he compiled a 118-54-5 record for a winning percentage of .681. He never had a losing record in his 12 seasons as a head coach in the National Football League. Here's a look at the other head coaches enshrined in Canton.

Paul Brown - 1946-62 Cleveland Browns, 1968-75 Cincinnati Bengals - Overall record: 222-112-9, .660 - A revolutionary innovator, he suffered only one losing season in 17 years as a head coach of the Browns. Elected to the Hall of Fame before his tenure with Bengals.

Weeb Ewank - 1954-62 Colts, 1963-73 Jets - Overall Record: 134-130-7, .507 - The only coach ever to win a championship in the National Football League ('58, '59 Colts) and the American Football League ('68 Jets - Super Bowl III).

Joe Gibbs - 1981-92 Washington Redskins - Overall Record: 140-65-0, .683 - Noted for his work ethic and motivational skills, he won Super Bowls XVII, XXII, XXVI with three different quarterbacks.

Sid Gillman, Class of  1983Sid Gillman - 1955-59 Los Angeles Rams, 1960-69, 1971 San Diego Chargers, 1973-74 Houston Oilers - Overall Record: 123-104-7, .541 - Recognized as one of the leading authorities on passing tactics. He was the first coach to win divisional titles in both the NFL and AFL.

Bud Grant - 1967-83, 1985 Minnesota Vikings - Overall Record: 168-108-5, .607 - Led the Vikings to 11 divisional titles and won the 1969 NFL championship, NFC titles in '73, '74, and '76.

Tom Landry - 1960-88 Dallas Cowboys - Overall Record: 270-178-6, .601 - Coached the Cowboys for 29 years. Had 20 straight winning seasons that included five NFC and two Super Bowl victories.

Marv Levy - 1978-82 Kansas City Chiefs, 1986-97 Buffalo Bills - Overall Record: 154-120-0, .562 - The only coach ever to guide his team to four consecutive Super Bowls. He led the Bills to the playoffs eight times in 11 seasons.

Vince Lombardi - 1959-67 Green Bay Packers, 1969 Washington Redskins - Overall Record: 105-35-6, .740 - A noted taskmaster, he transformed the Packers into winners in just two seasons. Guided Green Bay to five NFL titles and victories in Super Bowls I and II.Vince Lombardi, Class of 1971

Chuck Noll - 1969-91 Pittsburgh Steelers; Overall Record: 209-156-1, .572 - He took over a team that had never won a championship of any kind. Became the only coach in history to win four Super Bowls (IX, X, XIII, XIV).

Don Shula - 1963-69 Baltimore Colts, 1970-95 Miami Dolphins - Overall Record: 347-173-6, .665 - He is the winningest coach in NFL history with 347 wins. Led Colts to seven consecutive winning records. In 26 years with Miami, only had two seasons below .500.

Bill Walsh - 1979-88 San Francisco 49ers - Overall Record: 102-63-1, .617 - Widely regarded as a passing offense expert. Turned 49ers into NFL champions in just three seasons. In all, won three Super Bowls (XVI, XIX, and XXIII).

Back to news