Black College Football Hall of Fame Announce Class of 2020 Finalists

Black College Football Hall of Fame Announce Class of 2020 Finalists

See All News

The Black College Football Hall of Fame announced today the 26 Finalists for induction into the Class of 2020 Black College Football Hall of Fame. The list includes 23 players, two coaches and one contributor.

The Finalists were selected from a field of over 150 nominees by a 12-member Selection Committee composed of prominent journalists, commentators, historians, former NFL General Managers and football executives.

“It is no small feat to make it to this list. All these men are deserving of the recognition that comes with being inducted into the Black College Football Hall of Fame,” said James “Shack” Harris, Black College Football Co-Founder and 2012 Inductee. “On behalf of the Black College Football Hall of Fame’s trustees, congratulations to the Finalists for the Class of 2020.”

"The 2020 finalists are a microcosm of the talent that HBCUs have produced over the years and continue to produce. They represent the best of the best, and each year it becomes increasingly more difficult to narrow the field because there are so many worthy candidates.,” said Committee Chairman Roscoe Nance.

This year’s inductees will be announced on November 14, 2019. They will be honored during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, on February 22, 2020 in Atlanta, Georgia.


  • Joe “747” Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)
  • Coy Bacon (DL, Jackson State University, 1964-1967)
  • Dwaine Board (DE, North Carolina A&T State University, 1975-1978)
  • Ben Coates (TE, Livingstone College, 1987-1990)
  • Greg Coleman (P, Florida A&M University, 1972-1975)
  • Clem Daniels (RB, Prairie View A&M University, 1956-1959)
  • Kevin Dent (S, Jackson State University, 1985-1988)
  • Donald Driver (WR, Alcorn State University, 1995-1998)
  • Jimmie Giles (TE, Alcorn State University, 1973-1976)
  • Earl “Air” Harvey (QB, North Carolina Central University, 1985-1988)
  • James Hunter (DB, Grambling State University, 1972-1975)
  • Richard Huntley (RB, Winston-Salem State University, 1992-1995)
  • Henry Lawrence (OL, Florida A&M University, 1970-1973)
  • Albert Lewis (DB, Grambling State University, 1979-1982
  • Robert Mathis (LB, Alabama A&M University, 1999-2002)
  • Tyrone McGriff (OL, Florida A&M University, 1976-1979)
  • John “Big Train” Moody (RB, Morris Brown College, 1939-1941)
  • Nate Newton (OL, Florida A&M University, 1979-1982)
  • Jacquay Nunnally (WR, Florida A&M University, 1997-2000)
  • Jake Reed (WR, Grambling State University, 1987-1990)
  • Johnny Walton (QB, Elizabeth City State University, 1965-1968)
  • Erik Williams (OL, Central State University, 1987-1990)
  • Roynell Young (DB, Alcorn State University, 1976-1979)

COACH/CONTRIBUTOR FINALISTS (2 Coaches & 1 Contributor)

  • Willard Bailey (Head Football Coach, Virginia Union 1971-1983 and 1995-2003; Norfolk State 1984-1992; St. Paul’s 2005-2010; Virginia-Lynchburg 2011-2013)
  • Joe Taylor (Howard University 1983; Virginia Union 1984-1991; Hampton University 1992-2007; Florida A&M University 2008-2012)
  • Dennis Thomas (MEAC Commissioner 2002 - Present; Hampton University Director of Athletics 1990-2002)
Back to news