See All News

The Deacon Jones Award was created in 2013 to honor the legacy of Hall of Famer Deacon Jones and rightfully so. Jones is one of the best defensive ends ever to play the game, paving the way for today’s players. The award is given annually to the NFL leader in quarterback sacks.

This year, the award went to Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt. Watt, a four-time Pro Bowl selection, led the league with 17.5 sacks and became the seventh player since the statistic became official in 1982 to lead the league in sacks twice.  Watt led the NFL with 20.5 sacks in 2012. His accomplishment will be recognized as part of the NFL Honors, the same awards show that announces the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s newest class. The show can be seen on Saturday, Feb. 6, 2016 on CBS at 9 PM.

Jones, who was selected in the 14th-round by the Los Angeles Rams in the 1961 draft, quickly blossomed into a superb defensive end. Blessed with speed, agility, and quickness, the “Deacon” became one of the finest pass rushers in the business. He won unanimous all-league honors six straight years from 1965 through 1970. He also played in seven straight Pro Bowls, 1965-1971, and was selected to an eighth in 1973. In both 1967 and 1968, he was chosen the top defensive player in the NFL by one major news service.

Jones’ legacy was forever cemented into football history when he was enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1980.

Back to news