2003 Hall of Fame Weekend

General Published on : 1/1/2005
The annual Hall of Fame enshrinement and game represents one of the best celebrations of sport in the country! More than 700,000 people participate in  17 public events during an 11-day period. Millions of others view the enshrinement live on ESPN and the AFC-NFC Hall of Fame Game on ABC's Monday Night Football. 

Class of 2003

(Listen to the archived webcast)
Sunday Aug. 3, 2003
at 2:00 p.m. ET
Hall of Fame Game

Kansas City vs. Green Bay
Monday Aug. 4, 2003
at 8:00 p.m. ET

  Large banners of each member of the Hall's Class of 2003 were hung on the side of Pro Football Hall of Fame Field at Fawcett Stadium.

Q: Is a new Hall of Fame member enshrined as a member of a team?
A: When elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, an individual is recognized for his accomplishments as a player, coach, or contributor.

As such, an enshrinee is not asked to "declare," nor does the Hall of Fame "choose" a team under which a new member is enshrined.

2003 Enshrinement Celebration Through Photos
The Class of 2003 were formally enshrined on Sunday August 3rd. Relive the festivities through our photo galleries as the football world turns its focus to Canton! More>>>
Don Criqui Named Rozelle Award Winner
May 29, 2003 - Don Criqui, CBS Sports’ popular play-by-play announcer, is the 2003 recipient of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Pete Rozelle Radio and Television Award. The award given annually by the Hall of Fame recognizes “longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.” More>>>

Enshrinement Ticket Policy
Apr. 29, 2003 - For the second consecutive year, the public will have an opportunity to purchase reserved seats for the annual Enshrinement Ceremony. Approximately 9,000 sideline seats will be made available for purchase at $10 each.
2003 Enshrinement Seating Policy>>>

Presenters Named
Feb. 7, 2003 - Almost immediately after receiving the good news of their election, each of the newest members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, turn their attention to who they will ask to serve as their presenter at the annual enshrinement ceremony in Canton, Ohio. More>>>

Class of 2003 Announced
Jan. 25, 2003 -
Running back Marcus Allen, defensive end Elvin Bethea, guard Joe DeLamielleure, wide receiver James Lofton, and coach Hank Stram are the five newest members elected to the Hall of Fame. More>>>

New Schedule for 2003 Enshrinement Celebration
Oct. 15, 2002 - The Pro Football Hall of Fame and Pro Football Hall of Fame Festival announced a number of significant changes to the 2003 Hall of Fame Enshrinement and Festival activities schedule. MORE>>>
 2003 Hall of Fame Festival schedule

Other related stories:
 Joel Buchsbaum honored as 2003 McCann Award Winner
 2003 Student Art Contest winners
 Members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame
 Class of 2002 enshrinement celebration

Class of 2003
 Predict the Class contest winner
 15 Finalists
 74 Preliminary Nominees
 Selection Process

AFC-NFC Hall of Fame Game
 Ticket policy for 2003 HOF Game
 Super Bowl I rematch: Chiefs vs. Packers in 2003 Hall of Fame Game
 Hall of Fame series results, 1962-2002
 Pro Football Hall of Fame Field at Fawcett Stadium
 Packers website
 Chiefs website