Six named to Hall's Class of 2006!

Hall of Famers Published on : 2/4/2006
Quarterback Troy Aikman, linebacker Harry Carson, head coach John Madden, quarterback Warren Moon, defensive end Reggie White, and tackle Rayfield Wright make up the Class of 2006 Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinees.


The six-man class was elected by the Hall of Fame’s 39-member Selection Committee who met today in Detroit, Michigan. The newest members of the Hall were selected from a list of 15 finalists that had been determined earlier by the committee.


Warren Moon addresses the media after his election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame
Aikman led the Dallas Cowboys to three Super Bowl victories during his 12-season career. His 90 wins during the 1990s makes him the winningest quarterback of any decade in NFL history. Aikman was elected to six Pro Bowls in his career.

Carson made his presence felt during his 13 seasons as a linebacker with the New York Giants. Voted to nine Pro Bowls, he recovered 14 fumbles during his career that spanned from 1976 to 1988.

Madden was hired as head coach of the Oakland Raiders at age 32. Over the next 10 seasons he compiled a .759 regular season winning percentage, the highest in NFL history of any coach with 100 career wins.


Reggie White's widow Sara White, speaks about her husband's election.
Moon entered the NFL after winning five straight Grey Cups in the CFL. He passed for more than 49,000 yards, threw 291 touchdowns, and was selected to nine Pro Bowls during 17 seasons in the NFL.

White, nicknamed “The Minister of Defense,” amassed 198 career sacks with the Eagles, Packers and Panthers. He was named to the 1980s and 1990s All-Decade Teams, the 75th Anniversary Team, and selected to 13 Pro Bowls.

Wright, a member of the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 1970s, was voted to six Pro Bowls, played in eight championship games and five Super Bowls during his 13-season career with the Cowboys.


The 2006 class will increase to 235 the number of all-time greats permanently honored in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Formal enshrinement ceremonies will be held in Canton, home of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, during the weekend of August 5-6, 2006. The annual AFC-NFC Hall of Fame Game will be played that weekend as well.

  Class of 2006 Announcement Photo Gallery
  2006 15 Finalists