If elected...special notes on 2008 finalists - by position

Enshrinement Published on : 1/15/2008


If elected. . .

Richard Dent

Fred Dean and/or Richard Dent would become the 14th and/or 15th modern-era defensive end(s) to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame defensive ends are Doug Atkins, Elvin Bethea, Willie Davis, Carl Eller, Len Ford, Dan Hampton (DT-DE), Deacon Jones, Howie Long, Gino Marchetti, Andy Robustelli, Lee Roy Selmon, Reggie White (DT-DE), and Jack Youngblood.

Darrell Green would become the 11th cornerback elected to the Hall of Fame. Other cornerbacks already enshrined include Herb Adderley, Lem Barney, Mel Blount, Willie Brown, Mike Haynes, Jimmy Johnson, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Ronnie Lott (CB-S), Mel Renfro (CB-S), and Roger Wehrli.

Russ Grimm and/or Bob Kuechenberg and/or Randall McDaniel would be the 12th, 13th and/or 14th modern-era player(s) who played primarily as a guard to be elected. The other Hall of Fame guards previously elected are Joe DeLamielleure, John Hannah, Gene Hickerson, Stan Jones (G-T also DT), Larry Little, Tom Mack, Bruce Matthews (G-T-C), Mike Munchak, Jim Parker (G-T), Billy Shaw, and Gene Upshaw.

Ray Guy would be the first pure punter elected to the Hall of Fame.

Andre Reed

Cris Carter and/or Art Monk and/or Andre Reed will join 18 other modern-era receivers in the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame modern-era receivers include Lance Alworth, Raymond Berry, Fred Biletnikoff, Tom Fears, Elroy Hirsch (also a halfback), Michael Irvin, Charlie Joiner, Steve Largent, Dante Lavelli, James Lofton, Don Maynard, Tommy McDonald, Bobby Mitchell (also a halfback), Pete Pihos, John Stallworth, Lynn Swann, Charley Taylor (also a halfback), and Paul Warfield.

Paul Tagliabue would become the 18th contributor elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Bert Bell, Charles Bidwill, Joe Carr, Al Davis, Jim Finks, George Halas, Lamar Hunt, Curly Lambeau, Tim Mara, Wellington Mara, George Preston Marshall, Hugh “Shorty” Ray, Dan Reeves, Art Rooney, Dan Rooney, Pete Rozelle, Tex Schramm.

Randy Gradishar, and/or Derrick Thomas and/or Andre Tippett would be the 17th, 18th, and/or 19th modern-era Hall of Fame linebacker(s) joining Bobby Bell (also DE), Nick Buoniconti, Dick Butkus, Harry Carson, George Connor (also DT and OT), Bill George, Jack Ham, Ted Hendricks, Sam Huff, Jack Lambert, Willie Lanier, Ray Nitschke, Joe Schmidt, Mike Singletary, Lawrence Taylor, and Dave Wilcox.

Gary Zimmerman would be the 16th modern-era player who played primarily as a tackle to be elected. Other Hall of Fame tackles include Bob Brown, Roosevelt Brown, Lou Creekmur, Dan Dierdorf, Forrest Gregg, Lou Groza (also PK), Mike McCormack, Ron Mix, Anthony Muñoz, Jim Parker (G-T), Bob St. Clair, Art Shell, Jackie Slater, Rayfield Wright, and Ron Yary.