2011 Finalists notes: Team honor rolls will change

2011 Finalists notes: Team honor rolls will change

See All News
The Dallas Cowboys, Pittsburgh Steelers, Minnesota Vikings, and St. Louis/Los Angeles Rams each have two finalists who spent a significant part of their careers with the team.

The Atlanta Falcons, Buffalo Bills, Chicago Bears, Denver Broncos, Indianapolis Colts, New Orleans Saints, New York Jets, Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, San Francisco 49ers, Seattle Seahawks, and the Washington Redskins each have one finalist who spent all or a significant part of their careers with that team.

Q: Is a New Hall of Fame Member Enshrined as a Member of a Team?
A: Obviously, teams take great pride in the accomplishments of individuals who have been a part of their organization. Often individual teams and even the Hall of Fame will list enshrinees according to the team or teams on which they spent a significant period of time. An enshrinee, however, is not asked to “declare,” nor does the Hall of Fame “choose” a team under which a new member is enshrined. When elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, an individual is recognized for his accomplishments as a player, coach, or contributor.

If elected …

Jerome Bettis and/or Dermontti Dawson would be the 19th and/or 20th longtime Pittsburgh Steelers elected to the Hall of Fame.  Other Steelers Hall of Fame members include Mel Blount, Terry Bradshaw, Bill Dudley, Joe Greene, Jack Ham, Franco Harris, John Henry Johnson, Walt Kiesling, Jack Lambert, Bobby Layne, Chuck Noll, Art Rooney, Dan Rooney, John Stallworth, Ernie Stautner, Lynn Swann, Mike Webster, and Rod Woodson.  

Tim Brown would be the 14th Oakland/Los Angeles Raider elected to the Hall of Fame.  He would join Marcus Allen, Fred Biletnikoff, George Blanda, Willie Brown, Dave Casper, Al Davis, Mike Haynes, Ted Hendricks, Howie Long, John Madden, Jim Otto, Art Shell, and Gene Upshaw.

Cris Carter and/or Chris Doleman would be the 11th, and/or 12th Minnesota Vikings elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join Carl Eller, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Randall McDaniel, Alan Page, John Randle, Fran Tarkenton, Ron Yary, and Gary Zimmerman.

Richard Dent would be the 27th longtime Chicago Bear to be added to the Hall of Fame honor roll.  Doug Atkins, George Blanda, Dick Butkus, George Connor, Mike Ditka, John “Paddy” Driscoll, Jim Finks, Dan Fortmann, Bill George, Harold “Red” Grange, George Halas, Dan Hampton, Ed Healey, Bill Hewitt, Stan Jones, Sid Luckman, Link Lyman, George McAfee, George Musso, Bronko Nagurski, Walter Payton, Gale Sayers, Mike Singletary, Joe Stydahar, George Trafton, and Clyde “Bulldog” Turner are the others.   

Marshall Faulk and/or Les Richter would become the 14th and/or 15th longtime St. Louis/Los Angeles Rams elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join 13 previously elected Rams Hall of Famers including George Allen, Eric Dickerson, Tom Fears, Elroy Hirsch, Deacon Jones, Tom Mack, Ollie Matson, Merlin Olsen, Dan Reeves, Jackie Slater, Norm Van Brocklin, Bob Waterfield, and Jack Youngblood.

Marshall Faulk would be the 11th longtime Baltimore/Indianapolis Colts member elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Raymond Berry, Eric Dickerson, Art Donovan, Week Ewbank, Ted Hendricks, John Mackey, Gino Marchetti, Lenny Moore, Jim Parker and Johnny Unitas.

Charles Haley would be the 14th member of the San Francisco 49ers elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join 13 other 49ers Hall of Fame members including Fred Dean, Jimmy Johnson, Ronnie Lott, Hugh McElhenny, Joe Montana, Leo Nomellini, Joe Perry, Jerry Rice, Bob St. Clair, Y.A. Tittle, Bill Walsh, Dave Wilcox, and Steve Young.

Charles Haley and/or Deion Sanders would be the 13th and/or 14th Dallas Cowboys Hall of Fame members.  Troy Aikman, Tony Dorsett, Bob Hayes, Michael Irvin, Tom Landry, Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Tex Schramm, Emmitt Smith, Roger Staubach, Randy White, and Rayfield Wright are the current Cowboys Hall of Fame members.

Chris Hanburger would be the 19th Washington Redskins Hall of Fame member.  He would join George Allen, Cliff Battles, Sammy Baugh, Bill Dudley, Albert Glen “Turk” Edwards, Ray Flaherty, Joe Gibbs, Darrell Green, Russ Grimm, Ken Houston, Sam Huff, Sonny Jurgensen, George Preston Marshall, Wayne Millner, Bobby Mitchell, Art Monk, John Riggins, and Charley Taylor.

Cortez Kennedy would join Steve Largent to become the second longtime Seattle Seahawk elected to the Hall of Fame.

Curtis Martin would be the fifth longtime New York Jet elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Weeb Ewbank, Don Maynard, Joe Namath, and John Riggins.

Andre Reed would be the ninth Buffalo Bills Hall of Fame member. He would join Joe DeLamielleure, Jim Kelly, Marv Levy, Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, Bruce Smith, Thurman Thomas, and Ralph Wilson, Jr.  

Willie Roaf would join Jim Finks and Rickey Jackson as only the third longtime member of the New Orleans Saints elected to the Hall of Fame.  

Deion Sanders would become the first longtime member of the Atlanta Falcons to be enshrined in the Hall of Fame.

Shannon Sharpe would be the fourth Denver Bronco elected to the Hall of Fame, joining John Elway, Floyd Little and Gary Zimmerman.

<<<Back to main story

Back to news