2012 Finalist notes: HOFers by position will change

2012 Finalist notes: HOFers by position will change

See All News


(The Modern-Era is defined as a majority of an enshrinee’s career occurred after 1946)

If elected …

Jerome Bettis and/or Curtis Martin would be the 29th and/or 30th modern-era running back elected to the Hall of Fame. The other modern-era running backs in the Hall of Fame include Marcus Allen, Jim Brown, Earl Campbell, Larry Csonka, Eric Dickerson, Tony Dorsett, Marshall Faulk, Frank Gifford, Franco Harris, Paul Hornung, John Henry Johnson, Leroy Kelly, Floyd Little, Ollie Matson, Hugh McElhenny, Lenny Moore, Marion Motley, Walter Payton, Joe Perry, John Riggins, Barry Sanders, Gale Sayers, O.J. Simpson, Emmitt Smith, Jim Taylor, Thurman Thomas, Charley Trippi, and Doak Walker.

Curtis Martin

Tim Brown, and/or Cris Carter, and/or Andre Reed would be the 22nd, 23rd and/or 24th modern-era receivers in the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame modern-era receivers include Lance Alworth, Raymond Berry, Fred Biletnikoff, Tom Fears, Bob Hayes, Elroy Hirsch (also a halfback), Michael Irvin, Charlie Joiner, Steve Largent, Dante Lavelli, James Lofton, Don Maynard, Tommy McDonald, Bobby Mitchell (also a halfback), Art Monk, Pete Pihos, Jerry Rice, John Stallworth, Lynn Swann, Charley Taylor (also a halfback), and Paul Warfield.

Jack Butler and/or Aeneas Williams (also S) would become the 16th and/or 17th modern-era cornerbacks elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Herb Adderley, Lem Barney, Mel Blount, Willie Brown, Darrell Green, Mike Haynes, Jimmy Johnson, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Dick LeBeau, Ronnie Lott (also S), Mel Renfro (also S), Deion Sanders, Emmitt Thomas, Roger Wehrli, and Rod Woodson (also S).

Chris Doleman (also LB) and/or Charles Haley (also LB) would become the 17th and/or 18th modern-era defensive ends to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame defensive ends are Doug Atkins, Elvin Bethea, Willie Davis, Fred Dean, Richard Dent, Carl Eller, Len Ford, Dan Hampton (DT-DE), Deacon Jones, Howie Long, Gino Marchetti, Andy Robustelli, Lee Roy Selmon, Bruce Smith, Reggie White, and Jack Youngblood.

Dermontti Dawson would become the ninth modern-era center to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame centers include Chuck Bednarik (also LB), Frank Gatski, Jim Langer, Bruce Matthews (also G-T), Jim Otto, Jim Ringo, Dwight Stephenson, and Mike Webster.

Bill Parcells would be the 16th modern-era coach elected to the Hall of Fame. Coaches in the Hall of Fame include George Allen, Paul Brown, Weeb Ewbank, Joe Gibbs, Sid Gillman, Bud Grant, George Halas, Tom Landry, Marv Levy, Vince Lombardi, John Madden, Chuck Noll, Don Shula, Hank Stram, and Bill Walsh.

Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene and/or Charles Haley (also DE) would be the 23rd and/or 24th modern-era Hall of Fame linebackers joining Chuck Bednarik (also C) Bobby Bell (also DE), Nick Buoniconti, Dick Butkus, Harry Carson, George Connor (also DT-OT), Bill George, Jack Ham, Chris Hanburger, Ted Hendricks, Sam Huff, Rickey Jackson (also DE), Jack Lambert, Willie Lanier, Ray Nitschke, Les Richter, Joe Schmidt, Mike Singletary, Lawrence Taylor, Derrick Thomas, Andre Tippett, and Dave Wilcox.

Cortez Kennedy would be the 14th defensive tackle elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Buck Buchanan, Art Donovan, Joe Greene, Dan Hampton (also DE), Henry Jordan, Bob Lilly, Leo Nomellini, Merlin Olsen, Alan Page, John Randle, Ernie Stautner, Arnie Weinmeister, and Randy White.

Willie Roaf would become the 19th tackle to earn election into the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame tackles include Bob Brown, Roosevelt Brown, Lou Creekmur (also G), Dan Dierdorf, Forrest Gregg (also G), Lou Groza (also PK), Stan Jones (also G-DT), Bruce Matthews (also G-C), Mike McCormack, Ron Mix, Anthony Muñoz, Jim Parker (also G), Bob St. Clair, Art Shell, Jackie Slater, Rayfield Wright, Ron Yary, and Gary Zimmerman.

Edward DeBartolo, Jr. would be the 20th contributor inducted into the Hall of Fame. He would join Bert Bell, Charles Bidwill, Joe Carr, Al Davis, Jim Finks, George Halas, Lamar Hunt, Earl “Curly” Lambeau, Tim Mara, Wellington Mara, George Preston Marshall, Hugh “Shorty” Ray, Dan Reeves, Art Rooney, Dan Rooney, Pete Rozelle, Ed Sabol, Tex Schramm, and Ralph Wilson, Jr.

Will Shields and/or Dick Stanfel would become the 14th and/or 15th guards elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join Joe DeLamielleure, Russ Grimm, John Hannah, Gene Hickerson, Stan Jones (also T-DT), Larry Little, Tom Mack, Bruce Matthews (also C-T), Randall McDaniel, Mike Munchak, Jim Parker (G-T), Billy Shaw, and Gene Upshaw.


<<<Back to main story

Back to news