2012 Finalist notes: Team honor rolls will change

2012 Finalist notes: Team honor rolls will change

See All News


The Pittsburgh Steelers have three finalists who spent a significant part of their careers with the team. Minnesota Vikings and the San Francisco 49ers each have two finalists. The Arizona Cardinals, Buffalo Bills, Dallas Cowboys, Detroit Lions, Kansas City Chiefs, New Orleans Saints, New York Giants, New York Jets, Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, St. Louis/Los Angeles Rams, Seattle Seahawks, and the Washington Redskins each have one finalist who spent all or a significant part of their careers with that team.

If elected …

Dermontti Dawson

Jerome Bettis, Jack Butler and/or Dermontti Dawson would be the 19th, 20th and/or 21st longtime Pittsburgh Steelers elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Steelers Hall of Fame members include Mel Blount, Terry Bradshaw, Bill Dudley, Joe Greene, Jack Ham, Franco Harris, John Henry Johnson, Walt Kiesling, Jack Lambert, Bobby Layne, Chuck Noll, Art Rooney, Dan Rooney, John Stallworth, Ernie Stautner, Lynn Swann, Mike Webster, and Rod Woodson.

Tim Brown would be the 14th Oakland/Los Angeles Raider elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Marcus Allen, Fred Biletnikoff, George Blanda, Willie Brown, Dave Casper, Al Davis, Mike Haynes, Ted Hendricks, Howie Long, John Madden, Jim Otto, Art Shell, and Gene Upshaw.

Cris Carter and/or Chris Doleman would be the 11th, and/or 12th Minnesota Vikings elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join Carl Eller, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Randall McDaniel, Alan Page, John Randle, Fran Tarkenton, Ron Yary, and Gary Zimmerman.

Edward DeBartolo, Jr. and/or Charles Haley would be the 14th and/or 15th member of the San Francisco 49ers elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join 13 other 49ers Hall of Fame members including Fred Dean, Jimmy Johnson, Ronnie Lott, Hugh McElhenny, Joe Montana, Leo Nomellini, Joe Perry, Jerry Rice, Bob St. Clair, Y.A. Tittle, Bill Walsh, Dave Wilcox, and Steve Young.

Kevin Greene would become the 16th longtime St. Louis/Los Angeles Rams elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join 15 previously elected Rams Hall of Famers including George Allen, Eric Dickerson, Marshall Faulk, Tom Fears, Elroy Hirsch, Deacon Jones, Tom Mack, Ollie Matson, Merlin Olsen, Dan Reeves, Les Richter, Jackie Slater, Norm Van Brocklin, Bob Waterfield, and Jack Youngblood.

Charles Haley would be the 14th Dallas Cowboys Hall of Fame member. Troy Aikman, Tony Dorsett, Bob Hayes, Michael Irvin, Tom Landry, Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Deion Sanders, Tex Schramm, Emmitt Smith, Roger Staubach, Randy White, and Rayfield Wright are the current Cowboys Hall of Fame members.

Cortez Kennedy would join Steve Largent to become the second longtime Seattle Seahawk elected to the Hall of Fame.

Curtis Martin would be the fifth longtime New York Jet elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Weeb Ewbank, Don Maynard, Joe Namath, and John Riggins.

Bill Parcells would be the 19th longtime New York Giants member elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Morris “Red” Badgro, Roosevelt Brown, Harry Carson, Benny Friedman, Frank Gifford, Mel Hein, Sam Huff, Alphonse “Tuffy” Leemans, Tim Mara, Wellington Mara, Steve Owen, Andy Robustelli, Ken Strong, Fran Tarkenton, Lawrence Taylor, Y.A. Tittle, Emlen Tunnell, and Arnie Weinmeister. Parcells also spent shorter stints with the New England Patriots, New York Jets, and Dallas Cowboys.

Charles Haley

Andre Reed would be the ninth Buffalo Bills Hall of Fame member. He would join Joe DeLamielleure, Jim Kelly, Marv Levy, Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, Bruce Smith, Thurman Thomas, and Ralph Wilson, Jr.

Willie Roaf would join Jim Finks and Rickey Jackson to become only the third longtime member of the New Orleans Saints elected to the Hall of Fame.

Will Shields would be the 10th longtime member of the Kansas City Chiefs to be elected. He would join Bobby Bell, Buck Buchanan, Len Dawson, Lamar Hunt, Willie Lanier, Jan Stenerud, Hank Stram, Derrick Thomas, and Emmitt Thomas.

Dick Stanfel would be the 15th longtime Detroit Lions elected. Other Lions enshrined into the Hall of Fame include Lem Barney, Jack Christiansen, Earl “Dutch” Clark, Lou Creekmur, Bill Dudley, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Yale Lary, Bobby Layne, Dick LeBeau, Barry Sanders, Charlie Sanders, Joe Schmidt, Doak Walker, and Alex Wojciechowicz.

Dick Stanfel would be the 20th Washington Redskins Hall of Fame member. George Allen, Cliff Battles, Sammy Baugh, Bill Dudley, “Turk” Edwards, Ray Flaherty, Joe Gibbs, Darrell Green, Russ Grimm, Chris Hanburger, Ken Houston, Sam Huff, Sonny Jurgensen, George Preston Marshall, Wayne Millner, Bobby Mitchell, Art Monk, John Riggins, and Charley Taylor are the current Redskins Hall of Fame members.

Aeneas Williams would be the 12th member of the Cardinals (Chicago/St. Louis/Phoenix/Arizona) franchise to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Cardinals in the Hall of Fame include Charles Bidwill, Jimmy Conzelman, Dan Dierdorf, John “Paddy” Driscoll, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Ollie Matson, Ernie Nevers, Jackie Smith, Charley Trippi, Roger Wehrli, and Larry Wilson.


<<<Back to main story

Back to news