20th Legends Golf Invitational

20th Legends Golf Invitational

See All News
Led by twelve members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the Legends Invitational Golf Tournament, sponsored by Phillips Van Heusen  took place last week. Twenty-seven foursomes participated over three days playing on three legendary courses – Inn at Spanish Bay, Spyglass and the famed Pebble Beach.

Festivities started out on Friday night with the awarding of the Pedestal Award, honoring athletic excellence on the field and personal excellent off the field, went to Jerry Rice. He was emotionally moved by the award, which last year went to Lynn Swann.

“This has been in incredible year,” shared Rice. “It started with my selection into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the Induction Ceremony, having the 49ers retire my number, having NFL Network name me to the top pro football player of all time and tonight, to stand here in front of many sports legends, to accept the Pedestal Award.

“I can’t thank enough my entire support team that I have had around me my whole life to put me in this wonderful position and I am looking forward to giving back as my life moves on,” continued the NFL’s all-time leading receiver

It was also the final tournament for founders Curly and Sophie Morrison, who have passed the baton onto John Lee. 

“The Morrisons created this event to raise money for the Boys and Girls Clubs and they have raised over $500,000 for twenty years and I am here to help maintain and build this tradition,” commented Lee, a long time participant in the tournament who is taking over as CEO/President of the Legends Invitational.

The live auction this year alone raised a record $47,000. The audience heard Boys and Girls Club recipient Michael Villagrana speak how the support received has enabled him to go to college and give himself the ability to take care of his daughter at the same time.

The Pro Football Hall of Famer participating in the tournament included: Fred Biletnikoff, Nick Buoniconti, Ted Hendricks, Paul Krause, Tom Mack, Randall McDaniel, Rice, Swann, Jan Stenerud, Jim Taylor, Dave Wilcox and Jack Youngblood.

Also taking part on behalf of the Pro Football Hall of Fame were Board Chairman Tom Schervish, President/Executive Director Steve Perry, Vice President-Merchandise Sales/Licensing Steve Strawbridge along with Pro Football Hall of Fame Enterprise President George Veras, Phillips Van Heusen CEO Allen Sirkin and CMO Mike Kelley.
The winning team was captained by Pro Football Hall of Famer Jan Stenerud.

Phillips Van Heusen is letting fans share opinions on the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2011. Drop by www.fanschoice.com today and let your voice be heard!
Back to news