Divisional Playoff Flashback

Divisional Playoff Flashback

See All News

2000 AFC Divisional Playoff Game – Ravens vs. Titans

The Titans began its defense as the defending conference champions with an impressive scoring drive on the team’s first possession. Running Back Eddie George capped the drive with a two-yard touchdown run. However, that turned out to be the only touchdown the highly-touted Ravens defense would allow on this day.

Baltimore’s offense struck in the second quarter on Jamal Lewis’ one-yard touchdown run. That play was set up by a 56-yard pass from quarterback Trent Dilfer to tight end Shannon Sharpe. The teams exchanged field goals in the third quarter to head into the final stanza tied at 10-10.

Despite the Titans dominance on both sides of the ball for much of the game, two big plays in the fourth quarter sealed their fate. The Ravens’ Keith Washington blocked a field goal attempt by Tennessee’s Al Del Greco which was returned 90 yards for a touchdown by Anthony Mitchell. Six minutes later Ravens’ linebacker Ray Lewis picked off a pass and raced 50 yards for the score to put the game out of reach.

FINAL SCORE – Ravens 24, Titans 10

Keith Washington blocked a pair of Titans’ field goals.

Inside the Game from the Hall’s Archives:
Game Book (aka play-by-play) (PDF 81 KB)>>>
Program cover, team review and rosters (PDF 2.09 MB)>>>
News Release from the Ravens previewing the matchup (PDF 2.26 MB)>>>

More from Profootballhof.com:
Team HistoriesRavens | Titans
Photo gallery featuring the Ravens and Titans top performers

More playoff coverage
All-time results, 1932-Wild Card Weekend ‘08
History of the Wild Card Game
Top Seeds – how likely is it that Super Bowl XLIII will feature Titans vs. Giants
All-time post-season win/loss records
1932 – the NFL’s first playoff game
Playoff Photo Gallery


LB Ray Lewis was the Associated Press Defensive Player of the Year in 2000. His strong performance continued throughout the playoffs, including the key 50-yard TD return in this game, to help the Ravens to a Super Bowl championship.

The NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award recipients over the years include many members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

1971 – Alan Page
1972 – Joe Greene
1974 – Joe Greene
1975 – Mel Blount
1976 – Jack Lambert
1979 – Lee Roy Selmon
1981 – Lawrence Taylor
1982 – Lawrence Taylor
1985 – Mike Singletary
1986 – Lawrence Taylor
1987 – Reggie White
1988 – Mike Singletary
1998 – Reggie White

In addition, there are three finalists for the Class of 2009 who won the award: Bruce Smith (1990, 1996), Cortez Kennedy (1992), and Rod Woodson (1993).


Back to news