Golf Classic draws 28 HOFers

Golf Classic draws 28 HOFers

See All News

Golf Classic X logoTwenty eight members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame returned to Canton on Tuesday Sept. 21 for the Hall's Enshrinee Golf Classic X.

Each Hall of Famer served as a captain for their six-man team who competed in the scramble format.  The tenth annual Enshrinee Golf Classic, a charity tournament, was held at Canton's Glenmoor Country Club featuring a beautiful Jack Nicklaus designed course.

 Anthony Munoz golfing
Hall of Fame tackle Anthony Muñoz hits from the fairway on Tuesday.
Hall of Famers who participated in this year's tournament included: Lem Barney, Chuck Bednarik, Bobby Bell, Elvin Bethea, Lou Creekmur, Joe DeLamielleure, Bill Dudley, Carl Eller, Ted Hendricks, Ken Houston, Deacon Jones, Leroy Kelly, Paul Krause, Yale Lary, Dante Lavelli, Larry Little, Howie Long, Don Maynard, Hugh McElhenny, Lenny Moore, Anthony Muñoz, Joe Perry, Mel Renfro, Bob St. Clair, Billy Shaw, Charley Taylor, Dave Wilcox, and Jack Youngblood.

The winning team, anchored by Hall of Famer Bob St. Clair, included Mike Cicak, Howard Hartung, Ray Medlin, Bob Nichols, Jr. and Bob Utter. The team shot a 15-under-par for the win.

Finishing in second place at 14-under was the team captained by Mel Renfro that consisted of Bart Lee, Howard Wenger, Jeff Wenger, Gary Ziegler, and Mike Ziegler.

In third place at 12-under was Leroy Kelly's team of Dave Celona, Matt Evans, Mike Gribler, Van Needham, and David Smith.

 Photo Gallery: Golf Classic X>>

Back to news