If elected...special notes on 2007 finalists - by position roster

If elected...special notes on 2007 finalists - by position roster

See All News
(The Modern-Era is defined as a majority of an enshrinee's career occurred after 1946)

If elected . . .

Ray Guy
Fred Dean and/or Richard Dent would become the 14th and/or 15th modern-era defensive end(s) to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame defensive ends are Doug Atkins, Elvin Bethea, Willie Davis, Carl Eller, Len Ford, Dan Hampton (DT-DE), Deacon Jones, Howie Long, Gino Marchetti, Andy Robustelli, Lee Roy Selmon, Reggie White, and Jack Youngblood.

Russ Grimm and/or Gene Hickerson and/or Bob Kuechenberg and/or Bruce Matthews (also center and tackle) would be the 10th, 11th, 12th and/or 13th modern-era player(s) who played primarily as a guard to be elected. The other Hall of Fame guards previously elected are Joe DeLamielleure, John Hannah, Stan Jones, Larry Little, Tom Mack, Mike Munchak, Jim Parker (G-T), Billy Shaw, and Gene Upshaw.

Ray Guy would be the first punter elected to the Hall of Fame.

Fred Dean

Michael Irvin and/or Art Monk and/or Andre Reed will join 17 other modern-era receivers in the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame modern-era receivers include Lance Alworth, Raymond Berry, Fred Biletnikoff, Tom Fears, Elroy Hirsch (also a halfback), Charlie Joiner, Steve Largent, Dante Lavelli, James Lofton, Don Maynard, Tommy McDonald, Bobby Mitchell (also a halfback), Pete Pihos, John Stallworth, Lynn Swann, Charley Taylor (also a halfback), and Paul Warfield.

Charlie Sanders would be the 7th tight end elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame tight ends include Dave Casper, Mike Ditka, John Mackey, Ozzie Newsome, Jackie Smith, and Kellen Winslow.

Paul Tagliabue would become the 18th contributor elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Bert Bell, Charles Bidwill, Joe Carr, Al Davis, Jim Finks, George Halas, Lamar Hunt, Curly Lambeau, Tim Mara, Wellington Mara, George Preston Marshall, Hugh "Shorty" Ray, Dan Reeves, Art Rooney, Dan Rooney, Pete Rozelle, Tex Schramm.

Derrick Thomas and/or Andre Tippett would be the 17th and/or 18th modern-era Hall of Fame linebacker(s) joining Bobby Bell (also DE), Nick Buoniconti, Dick Butkus, Harry Carson, George Connor (also DT and OT), Bill George, Jack Ham, Ted Hendricks, Sam Huff, Jack Lambert, Willie Lanier, Ray Nitschke, Joe Schmidt, Mike Singletary, Lawrence Taylor, and Dave Wilcox.

Roger Wehrli

Thurman Thomas would join 24 other modern-era running backs in the Hall of Fame including Marcus Allen, Jim Brown, Earl Campbell, Larry Csonka, Eric Dickerson, Tony Dorsett, Frank Gifford, Franco Harris, Paul Hornung, John Henry Johnson, Leroy Kelly, Ollie Matson, Hugh McElhenny, Lenny Moore, Marion Motley, Walter Payton, Joe Perry, John Riggins, Barry Sanders, Gale Sayers, O.J. Simpson, Jim Taylor, Charley Trippi, and Doak Walker.

Roger Wehrli would be the 17th modern-era defensive back in the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame defensive backs include Herb Adderley, Lem Barney, Mel Blount, Willie Brown, Jack Christiansen, Mike Haynes, Ken Houston, Jimmy Johnson, Paul Krause, Dick "Night Train" Lane, Yale Lary, Ronnie Lott, Mel Renfro, Emlen Tunnell, Larry Wilson, and Willie Wood.

Gary Zimmerman would be the 16th modern-era player who played primarily as a tackle to be elected. Other Hall of Fame tackles include Bob Brown, Roosevelt Brown, Lou Creekmur, Dan Dierdorf, Forrest Gregg, Lou Groza (also PK), Mike McCormack, Ron Mix, Anthony Muñoz, Jim Parker (G-T), Bob St. Clair, Art Shell, Jackie Slater, Rayfield Wright, and Ron Yary.

Back to news