If elected...special notes on 2007 finalists - by team

If elected...special notes on 2007 finalists - by team

See All News

Andre Tippett
The Buffalo Bills and Washington Redskins have two finalists and the Chicago Bears, Cleveland Browns, Dallas Cowboys, Denver Broncos, Detroit Lions, Houston Oilers/Tennessee Titans, Kansas City Chiefs, Miami Dolphins, Minnesota Vikings, New England Patriots, San Diego Chargers, San Francisco 49ers, Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, and St. Louis/Arizona Cardinals, each have one finalist who spent all or a significant part of their careers with that team.

If elected. . .

Andre Reed and/or Thurman Thomas would be the 6th and/or 7th Buffalo Bills Hall of Fame member. They would join Joe DeLamielleure, Jim Kelly, Marv Levy, Billy Shaw, and O.J. Simpson.

Russ Grimm and/or Art Monk would be the 16th and/or 17th Washington Redskins Hall of Fame members. They would join George Allen, Cliff Battles, Sammy Baugh, Bill Dudley, Albert Glen "Turk" Edwards, Ray Flaherty, Joe Gibbs, Ken Houston, Sam Huff, Sonny Jurgensen, George Preston Marshall, Wayne Millner, Bobby Mitchell, John Riggins, and Charley Taylor.

Richard Dent

Richard Dent would be the 27th long-time Chicago Bear to be added to the Hall of Fame honor roll. Doug Atkins, George Blanda, Dick Butkus, George Connor, Mike Ditka, John "Paddy" Driscoll, Jim Finks, Dan Fortmann, Bill George, Harold "Red" Grange, George Halas, Dan Hampton, Ed Healey, Bill Hewitt, Stan Jones, Sid Luckman, Link Lyman, George McAfee, George Musso, Bronko Nagurski, Walter Payton, Gale Sayers, Mike Singletary, Joe Stydahar, George Trafton, and Clyde "Bulldog" Turner are the others.

Fred Dean would join six previously elected San Diego Chargers Hall of Famers: Lance Alworth, Dan Fouts, Sid Gillman, Charlie Joiner, Ron Mix, and Kellen Winslow.

Fred Dean also played a significant part of his career with the San Francisco 49ers. He would join 11 other 49ers Hall of Fame members including Jimmy Johnson, Ronnie Lott, Hugh McElhenny, Joe Montana, Leo Nomellini, Joe Perry, Bob St. Clair, Y.A. Tittle, Bill Walsh, Dave Wilcox, and Steve Young.

Ray Guy would be the 14th Oakland/Los Angeles Raider elected to the Hall. Marcus Allen, Fred Biletnikoff, George Blanda, Willie Brown, Dave Casper, Al Davis, Mike Haynes, Ted Hendricks, Howie Long, John Madden, Jim Otto, Art Shell, and Gene Upshaw are the other Raiders Hall of Famers.

Gene Hickerson would be the 16th long-time Cleveland Brown to be elected. Jim Brown, Paul Brown, Joe DeLamielleure, Len Ford, Frank Gatski, Otto Graham, Lou Groza, Leroy Kelly, Dante Lavelli, Mike McCormack, Bobby Mitchell, Marion Motley, Ozzie Newsome, Paul Warfield, and Bill Willis are the other Browns Hall of Fame members.

Bob Kuechenberg
Michael Irvin would be the 10th Dallas Cowboys Hall of Fame member. Troy Aikman, Tony Dorsett, Tom Landry, Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Tex Schramm, Roger Staubach, Randy White, and Rayfield Wright are the current Cowboys Hall of Fame members.

Bob Kuechenberg would be the 10th long-time member of the Miami Dolphins to be elected. Nick Buoniconti, Larry Csonka, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Dan Marino, Don Shula, Dwight Stephenson, and Paul Warfield are the other Dolphins Hall of Fame members.

Bruce Matthews would be the seventh Tennessee Titans (Houston/Tennessee Oilers) Hall of Fame player. Elvin Bethea, George Blanda, Earl Campbell, Ken Houston, Warren Moon, and Mike Munchak are the other Oilers/Titans Hall of Famers.

Charlie Sanders would be the 13th player to play all or a significant part of his career as a member of the Detroit Lions. Previosly elected Lions include Lem Barney, Jack Christiansen, Dutch Clark, Lou Creekmur, Bill Dudley, Dick "Night Train" Lane, Yale Lary, Bobby Layne, Barry Sanders, Joe Schmidt, Doak Walker, and Alex Wojciechowicz.

Gary Zimmerman
Derrick Thomas would be the eighth Kansas City Chiefs Hall of Fame member. He would join Bobby Bell, Buck Buchanan, Len Dawson, Lamar Hunt, Willie Lanier, Jan Stenerud, and Hank Stram.

 Andre Tippett would be the fourth New England Patriots player elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Nick Buoniconti, John Hannah, and Mike Haynes.

Roger Wehrli would be the 11th long-time member of the Arizona (Chicago, St. Louis) Cardinals franchise to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Cardinals to be elected include Charles Bidwill, Jimmy Conzelman, Dan Dierdorf, John "Paddy" Driscoll, Dick "Night Train" Lane, Ollie Matson, Ernie Nevers, Jackie Smith, Charley Trippi, and Larry Wilson.

Gary Zimmerman would be the eighth Minnesota Vikings player elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Carl Eller, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Alan Page, Fran Tarkenton, and Ron Yary.

Gary Zimmerman would also join John Elway to become the second member of the Denver Broncos elected to the Hall of Fame.

Back to news