If elected...special notes on 2009 finalists - by position

If elected...special notes on 2009 finalists - by position

See All News

(The Modern-Era is defined as a majority of an enshrinee’s career occurred after 1946)

If elected . . .

Cris Carter, Bob Hayes, and/or Andre Reed would be the 20th, 21st and/or 22nd modern-era receivers in the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame modern-era receivers include Lance Alworth, Raymond Berry, Fred Biletnikoff, Tom Fears, Elroy Hirsch (also a halfback), Michael Irvin, Charlie Joiner, Steve Largent, Dante Lavelli, James Lofton, Don Maynard, Tommy McDonald, Bobby Mitchell (also a halfback), Art Monk, Pete Pihos, John Stallworth, Lynn Swann, Charley Taylor (also a halfback), and Paul Warfield.

Randall McDaniel

Richard Dent, Claude Humphrey, and/or Bruce Smith would become the 15th 16th, and/or 17th modern-era defensive ends to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame defensive ends are Doug Atkins, Elvin Bethea, Willie Davis, Fred Dean, Carl Eller, Len Ford, Dan Hampton (DT-DE), Deacon Jones, Howie Long, Gino Marchetti, Andy Robustelli, Lee Roy Selmon, Reggie White, and Jack Youngblood.

Dermontti Dawson would become the 8th modern-era center to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame centers include Chuck Bednarik, Frank Gatski, Jim Langer, Jim Otto, Jim Ringo, Dwight Stephenson, and Mike Webster.

Russ Grimm and/or Bob Kuechenberg and/or Randall McDaniel would be the 12th, 13th and/or 14th modern-era players who played primarily as a guard to be elected. The other Hall of Fame guards previously elected are Joe DeLamielleure, John Hannah, Gene Hickerson, Stan Jones (G-T also DT), Larry Little, Tom Mack, Bruce Matthews (G-T-C), Mike Munchak, Jim Parker (G-T), Billy Shaw, and Gene Upshaw.

Cortez Kennedy and/or John Randle would be the 13th and or 14th defensive tackles elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Buck Buchanan, Art Donovan, Joe Greene, Dan Hampton, Henry Jordan, Bob Lilly, Leo Nomellini, Merlin Olsen, Alan Page, Ernie Stautner, Arnie Weinmeister, and Randy White.

Derrick Thomas

Shannon Sharpe would be the 8th tight end elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame tight ends include Dave Casper, Mike Ditka, John Mackey, Ozzie Newsome, Charlie Sanders, Jackie Smith, and Kellen Winslow.

Paul Tagliabue and/or Ralph Wilson, Jr. would become the 18th and/or 19th contributors elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join Bert Bell, Charles Bidwill, Joe Carr, Al Davis, Jim Finks, George Halas, Lamar Hunt, Curly Lambeau, Tim Mara, Wellington Mara, George Preston Marshall, Hugh “Shorty” Ray, Dan Reeves, Art Rooney, Dan Rooney, Pete Rozelle, Tex Schramm.

Derrick Thomas would be the 18th modern-era Hall of Fame linebacker joining Bobby Bell (also DE), Nick Buoniconti, Dick Butkus, Harry Carson, George Connor (also DT and OT), Bill George, Jack Ham, Ted Hendricks, Sam Huff, Jack Lambert, Willie Lanier, Ray Nitschke, Joe Schmidt, Mike Singletary, Lawrence Taylor, Andre Tippett, and Dave Wilcox.

Rod Woodson would become the 20th modern era defensive back elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Herb Adderley, Lem Barney, Mel Blount, Willie Brown, Jack Christiansen, Darrell Green, Mike Haynes, Ken Houston, Jimmy Johnson, Paul Krause, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Yale Lary, Ronnie Lott, Mel Renfro, Emmitt Thomas, Emlen Tunnell, Roger Wehrli, Larry Wilson, and Willie Wood.

Back to news