If elected...special notes on 2010 finalists - by position

If elected...special notes on 2010 finalists - by position

See All News

THE MODERN-ERA POSITION ROSTER WILL CHANGE AFTER 2010 ELECTION (The Modern-Era is defined as a majority of an enshrinee’s career occurred after 1946)

If elected…

Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Andre Reed and/or Jerry Rice would be the 21st, 22nd and/or 23rd modern-era receivers in the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame modern-era receivers include Lance Alworth, Raymond Berry, Fred Biletnikoff, Tom Fears, Bob Hayes, Elroy Hirsch (also a halfback), Michael Irvin, Charlie Joiner, Steve Largent, Dante Lavelli, James Lofton, Don Maynard, Tommy McDonald, Bobby Mitchell (also a halfback), Art Monk, Pete Pihos, John Stallworth, Lynn Swann, Charley Taylor (also a halfback), and Paul Warfield.

Don Coryell would be the 16th modern-era coach elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join George Allen, Paul Brown, Weeb Ewbank, Joe Gibbs, Sid Gillman, Bud Grant, George Halas, Tom Landry, Marv Levy, Vince Lombardi, John Madden, Chuck Noll, Don Shula, Hank Stram, and Bill Walsh.

Roger Craig, Floyd Little, and/or Emmitt Smith would be the 26th, 27th and/or 28th modern-era running backs elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join 25 other modern-era running backs in the Hall of Fame including Marcus Allen, Jim Brown, Earl Campbell, Larry Csonka, Eric Dickerson, Tony Dorsett, Frank Gifford, Franco Harris, Paul Hornung, John Henry Johnson, Leroy Kelly, Ollie Matson, Hugh McElhenny, Lenny Moore, Marion Motley, Walter Payton, Joe Perry, John Riggins, Barry Sanders, Gale Sayers, O.J. Simpson, Jim Taylor, Thurman Thomas, Charley Trippi, and Doak Walker.

Richard Dent and/or Charles Haley (also LB) would become the 16th and/or 17th modern-era defensive ends to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame defensive ends are Doug Atkins, Elvin Bethea, Willie Davis, Fred Dean, Carl Eller, Len Ford, Dan Hampton (DT-DE), Deacon Jones, Howie Long, Gino Marchetti, Andy Robustelli, Lee Roy Selmon, Bruce Smith, Reggie White, and Jack Youngblood.

Dermontti Dawson would become the ninth modern-era center to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame centers include Chuck Bednarik, Frank Gatski, Jim Langer, Bruce Matthews (G-T-C) Jim Otto, Jim Ringo, Dwight Stephenson, and Mike Webster.

Russ Grimm would be the 13th modern-era player who played primarily as a guard to be elected. The other Hall of Fame guards previously elected are Joe DeLamielleure, John Hannah, Gene Hickerson, Stan Jones (G-T also DT), Larry Little, Tom Mack, Bruce Matthews (also G-T-C), Randall McDaniel, Mike Munchak, Jim Parker (G-T), Billy Shaw, and Gene Upshaw.

Charles Haley (also DE) and/or Rickey Jackson would be the 19th and/or 20th modern-era Hall of Fame linebacker joining Bobby Bell (also DE), Nick Buoniconti, Dick Butkus, Harry Carson, George Connor (also DT-OT), Bill George, Jack Ham, Ted Hendricks, Sam Huff, Jack Lambert, Willie Lanier, Ray Nitschke, Joe Schmidt, Mike Singletary, Lawrence Taylor, Derrick Thomas, Andre Tippett, and Dave Wilcox.

Cortez Kennedy and/or John Randle would be the 13th and or 14th defensive tackles elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Buck Buchanan, Art Donovan, Joe Greene, Dan Hampton (also DE), Henry Jordan, Bob Lilly, Leo Nomellini, Merlin Olsen, Alan Page, Ernie Stautner, Arnie Weinmeister, and Randy White.

Dick LeBeau would become the 21st modern era defensive back elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Herb Adderley, Lem Barney, Mel Blount, Willie Brown, Jack Christiansen, Darrell Green, Mike Haynes, Ken Houston, Jimmy Johnson, Paul Krause, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Yale Lary, Ronnie Lott, Mel Renfro, Emmitt Thomas, Emlen Tunnell, Roger Wehrli, Larry Wilson, Willie Wood and Rod Woodson.

Shannon Sharpe would be the 8th tight end elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame tight ends include Dave Casper, Mike Ditka, John Mackey, Ozzie Newsome, Charlie Sanders, Jackie Smith, and Kellen Winslow.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival, a multi-day celebration of the enshrinement of the newest Hall of Fame Class, is held each year in Canton. The festival which culminates with the Enshrinement Ceremony and NFL Hall of Fame Game includes 19 special events over a 10-day period. Two major events are the Enshrinees Dinner (Friday, August 6), and the Enshrinees Game Day Roundtable (Sunday, August 8). It is at the Enshrinees Dinner where each member of the Class of 2010 will be presented his gold Pro Football Hall of Fame Jacket. At the Enshrinees Game Day Roundtable, the Class of 2010 will be featured center stage as they share memories of the game and their personal feelings about being inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

 If Elected...Special Notes on 2009 Finalists: HOF roster could increase for 14 teams

 Finalists, All-time
Selection Process
Class of 2010Senior nominees | Preliminary nominees | Semifinalists
Capsule bios for the Class of 2010 finalists
2010 Enshrinement Festival (Ticket info, fan & travel packages, schedule of events, more)
VOICE YOUR CHOICE – visit Fanschoice.com and register your vote for the Class of ’10

Back to news