Insider Trivia - May 2008 Edition

Insider Trivia - May 2008 Edition

See All News

Here are the answers to the trivia questions from the May 2008 edition of the Insider.

1. Who is the only person enshrined in both the Pro Football and Baseball Halls of Fame?
a. Jim Thorpe
b. Cal Hubbard
c. George Halas
d. Greasy Neale

Cal Hubbard was a tackle with the New York Giants, Green Bay Packers, and Pittsburgh Pirates from 1927-1936 before becoming a Hall of Fame umpire.

2. Who is the first player ever to rush for 1,000 yards in back-to-back seasons?
a. Jim Brown
b. Hugh McElhenny
c. Steve Van Buren
d. Joe Perry

Joe “The Jet” Perry rushed for 1,000 yards with the San Francisco 49ers in 1953 and 1954.

3. Which quarterback was the first player to throw for 4,000 yards in a season?
a. Dan Marino
b. Terry Bradshaw
c. Joe Namath
d. Dan Fouts

Joe Namath passed for 4,007 yards in 1967 with the New York Jets.

4. Against which team did Dallas Cowboys RB Tony Dorsett run for a record 99-yard TD on Jan. 3, 1983?
a. Washington Redskins
b. Philadelphia Eagles
c. Green Bay Packers
d. Minnesota Vikings

Dorsett’s record-breaking play came on a nationally televised Monday Night game against the Vikings.

5. Who is the first tight end enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame?
a. Mike Ditka
b. Jackie Smith
c. John Mackey
d. Kellen Winslow

Ditka, a star tight end for the Chicago Bears, Philadelphia Eagles and Dallas Cowboys was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1988.

6. Which of these Hall of Famers was not born in Canton?
a. Dan Dierdorf
b. Alan Page
c. John Hannah
d. Marion Motley

Although Motley grew up in Canton, Ohio, he was born in Leesburg, Georgia. Dierdorf and Page were born in the Hall of Fame city, while John Hannah was born in Canton, Georgia.

7. What was Hall of Famer Pete Rozelle’s given name?
a. Peter
b. Alvin
c. Michael
d. Robert

Alvin Ray Rozelle was the NFL’s commissioner from 1960-1989.

8. Which Hall of Fame coach played guard and linebacker for the Cleveland Browns from 1953-59?
a. Tom Landry
b. Vince Lombardi
c. Chuck Noll
d. Bud Grant

Noll was a messenger guard and linebacker for seven seasons in Cleveland.

9. Which Hall of Fame quarterback was not selected in the first round of the draft?
a. Joe Montana
b. Jim Kelly
c. John Elway
d. Dan Marino

Montana was the San Francisco 49ers’ third-round draft pick out of Notre Dame in 1979. Elway, Kelly and Marino were all taken in the first round of the 1983 NFL Draft.

10. Which Hall of Famer made the “safety blitz” famous?
a. Larry Wilson
b. Yale Lary
c. Mel Renfro
d. Ronnie Lott

Wilson is credited for making the blitz famous during his career with the St. Louis Cardinals from 1960-1972.

11. Which Hall of Fame defensive end once played in the playoffs with a broken leg?
a. Jack Youngblood
b. Howie Long
c. Deacon Jones
d. Reggie White

Youngblood suffered a broken fibula in the 1979 postseason and played in the NFC championship game and Super Bowl XIV with a fitted brace.

12. Who is the only Hall of Famer to wear the uniform number “00?”
a. Otto Graham
b. Alex Wojciechowicz
c. Jim Otto
d. Ollie Matson

Raiders center Jim Otto wore double zero during his career that spanned from 1960-1974.

13. Which player did legendary coach Vince Lombardi describe as “the best player I ever coached?”
a. Jim Taylor
b. Bart Starr
c. Ray Nitschke
d. Forrest Gregg

Forrest Gregg, a nine-time Pro Bowl tackle, starred for the Green Bay Packers from 1956, 1958-1970 and finished his career with the Dallas Cowboys in 1971.

14. Which Hall of Famer led his team to the NFL title and was named the league’s Most Valuable Player as a rookie?
a. Dan Marino
b. Bob Waterfield
c. Fran Tarkenton
d. Johnny Unitas

Waterfield, fresh out of the UCLA, guided the Cleveland Rams to the NFL title and was named the NFL’s MVP in 1945.

15. Who is this Pro Football Hall of Famer? Hint: This Class of 1973 inductee split his career between tackle and guard with the Baltimore Colts from 1957-1967.


Jim Parker was an eight-time Pro Bowl selection during his career with the Colts. He was a member of the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 1950s and the NFL’s 75th Anniversary Team, 1994.

Back to news