NFL Network to air JWC Gold Medal Game

NFL Network to air JWC Gold Medal Game

See All News

Special to

USA Football Junior National Team’s July 5 Victory Against Team Canada Re-Airs Nationally on July 18 at 8p ET.

The Gold Medal Game of the first junior world championship in football history, played earlier this month in Canton, Ohio’s historic Pro Football Hall of Fame Field at Fawcett Stadium, will be telecast nationally on NFL Network Saturday, July 18, at 8 p.m. ET, with an encore showing at 12 midnight ET. NFL Network airs seven days a week, 24 hours a day on a year-round basis and is the only television network fully dedicated to the NFL and the sport of football.

USA Football’s Junior National Team, composed of incoming college freshman to one of 33 universities this fall, defeated Team Canada, 41-3, for the inaugural International Federation of American Football (IFAF) Junior World Championship.  The June 27-July 5 tournament in Canton consisted of the world’s eight-best high school-aged national football teams spanning four continents.  The next IFAF Junior World Championship will take place in 2012.

Leading Team USA was legendary head coach CHUCK KYLE of Cleveland St. Ignatius High School, who has led his prep program to 10 large-school Ohio state titles and an active Ohio record of 21 consecutive state playoff berths since 1988.

America’s first junior national football team earned the gold medal behind the standout play of QB BRYCE PETTY (Midlothian, Texas; Baylor University) who was a perfect 14-of-14 for 190 yards and three touchdowns without an interception to earn the game’s Most Valuable Player honors.  Team USA RB DAVID WILSON (Danville, Va.; Virginia Tech) was named tournament MVP with 425 rushing yards and eight TDs as the Americans forged their way to a perfect 3-0 record in the global competition.  Wilson rushed for 87 yards and a touchdown on 10 carries in Team USA’s Gold Medal victory.

Capturing football fans’ imagination, 15,473 filled Fawcett Stadium for the U.S. win against Canada.  Throughout the tournament’s four gamedays in a span of nine days, a total of 40,043 fans enjoyed the international football action.

Participating countries in the 2009 IFAF Junior World Championship:

Canada, France, Germany, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Sweden, and United States.

The next IFAF Junior World Championship (players aged 19 and younger) will take place in 2012 at a site to be determined.  IFAF will hold the sport’s next Senior World Championship (players 20 and older) in 2011 in Austria.  USA Football will assemble America’s national teams for both tournaments.

For statistics, rosters and additional IFAF Junior World Championship news, visit

Back to news