Three Hall of Famers weather event

Three Hall of Famers weather event

See All News

The most recent stop on the JCPenney/Van Heusen Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Fan Choice tour took place at a snowy Gillette Stadium yesterday. Three members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame were on location and entertained the fans prior to the New England Patriots 59-0 win over the Tennessee Titans.

Andre Tippett (Class of 2008), Mike Haynes (Class of 1997), and John Hannah (Class of 1991) talked football and fielded questions from fans during the free event held at Patriot Place Plaza outside Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, Mass.

Hundreds of Patriots fans braved the snowy weather to watch the three Hall of Famers engage in a panel discussion hosted by Nick Stevens. Much emphasis was placed on the debate about who should be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame next February. Fans also had the opportunity to cast their ballots during the event.

The three Hall of Famers made strong cases for fellow Patriots players Ben Coates and Gino Cappelletti. They also agreed that Ray Guy, believed by many to be the best punter to ever play in the NFL, should be in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

"Defensive players have to do something that has never been done before at that position to get in.” – Andre Tippett comment on the 2:1 offense to defense ratio of Hall of Famers.
“If you can vote a guy like Ray Guy by his position to the Pro Bowl, why can’t we do that for the Hall of Fame?” Haynes commented.

Sunday’s event was the second stop on the Fan’s Choice Tour. The next stop will be on November 1 at Lambeau Field in Green Bay.

The Voice Your Choice campaign marks the first time that fans are being asked to share their thoughts and opinions by casting a vote for who they believe should be in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The fans can vote for the Class of 2010 at the dedicated fan forum at jcp.com/fans and although the fan’s vote does not count toward the official selection, the Hall will hear what the fans have to say and the Fan’s Choice will be revealed on the NFL Network on February 6, 2010 in Miami.Since the vote launched in Week 2, nearly 100,000 votes have been cast.

The top 10 vote totals as of Sunday afternoon are:
Jerry Rice – 10,139 votes
Emmitt Smith – 8,596 votes
Cris Carter – 5,822 votes
Shannon Sharpe – 5,411votes
Ray Guy – 4,133 votes
Richard Dent – 3,415 votes
Tim Brown – 3,367votes
Charles Haley – 3,170 votes
Randall Cunningham – 2,635 votes
Phil Simms – 2,547 votes


Back to news