Throwback Ten: Week 14

Throwback Ten: Week 14

See All News

Each week throughout the 2015 NFL Season, ProFootballHOF.com will preserve some history by taking a look back at a matchup from the weekend’s schedule.

The Washington Redskins and the Chicago Bears face off this weekend in a Week 14 NFC showdown. The game will be played 73 years to the day of the Redskins’ 14-6 victory against the Bears in the 1942 NFL Championship Game. The Bears look to snap their longest current losing streak (5 consecutive losses to Washington from 2004-2014) against any one franchise. The Redskins are playing to stay at the top of the NFC East division as the regular season approaches its end.

To help put this Sunday afternoon’s matchup into perspective, here are ten quick historical notes about the Redskins-Bears series.


This series dates back to 1932 when the Bears met the then Boston Braves in a 7-7 tie at Braves Field in Boston.


The two franchises have met a total of 48 times which includes four NFL Championship contests with each team winning two (Washington: 1937 and 1942 and Chicago: 1940 and 1943).



The Redskins have a slight edge in the all-time series 24-23-1, while the regular season series is tied 20-20-1.


The largest Bears win versus the Redskins was their 73-0 rout in the 1940 championship game after Washington had beaten Chicago earlier that season, 7-3.


Defensive back DeAngelo Hall recorded an NFL-record-tying four interceptions during the Redskins’ last visit to Soldier Field. Hall returned one of the interceptions 92 yards for a touchdown during the 17-14 Redskins victory in 2010.


Gold Jacket and Redskins head coach Joe Gibbs earned the first of his 124 regular season victories against the Bears 24-7 on Oct. 11, 1981. Washington began 0-5 but closed the 1981 season by winning eight of their final 11 games.



The Redskins won their first NFL Championship during Hall of Famer Sammy Baugh’s rookie season in 1937.  They faced off against the Bears in frigid weather (-6 with wind chill) at Wrigley Field and won 28-21. Baugh ruled the day throwing for an unprecedented 335 yards and three touchdowns.


Hall of Fame quarterback Sid Luckman still holds the Bears’ postseason record for most passing yards (286) and passing TDs (5) in a game. Luckman’s record-breaking day occurred in the 1943 NFL Championship on Dec. 26 as the Bears defeated the Redskins 41-21.



Gold Jacket Sonny Jurgensen and running back Gerry Allen connected for a 99-yard touchdown pass play on Sept. 15, 1968. It was only the fourth time in NFL history that had occurred. To this day a 99-yard touchdown (rushing or receiving) has only happened 14 times.


Seven different stadiums have hosted a game in this 78 year series. Those stadiums include Braves Field (Boston, Mass.), Wrigley Field (Chicago, Ill.), Fenway Park (Boston, Mass.), Griffith Stadium (D.C.), Soldier Field (Chicago, Ill.), RFK Stadium (D.C.), FedEx Field (Landover, Md.).

Back to news