Troy Aikman Elected to Oklahoma Hall of Fame

Troy Aikman Elected to Oklahoma Hall of Fame

See All News

Gold Jacket Troy Aikman grew up a star athlete in the state of Oklahoma. He helped both his high school in Henryetta and Oklahoma University win football games before finishing his college career and UCLA and leading the Dallas Cowboys to three Super Bowl victories. It was announced yesterday that Aikman will be inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame at the Gaylord-Pickens Museum.

Related: Aikman returns home to Henryetta, Okla.
Aikman, along with NBA superstar and Oklahoma City Thunder point guard Russell Westbrook and six others will be formally inducted on Nov. 17. They will join 677 individuals who have been enshrined into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame since 1928.
The Hall of Fame was created to honor Oklahomans who have given outstanding service to the state during their lifetime.  
The Dallas Cowboys selected Aikman with the first overall pick in the 1989 NFL Draft. He became the first Dallas rookie quarterback to start a season opener since Roger Staubach in 1969. With 90 wins in the 1990s, Aikman became the winningest starting quarterback of any decade in NFL history at the time of his retirement. Unfortunately, during his final two seasons, injuries began to take a toll on the Dallas quarterback and the team's winning ways. Finally, after the 2000 season, the Cowboys' six-time Pro Bowl selection announced his retirement from football. His career statistics include 32,942 yards and 165 touchdowns for a passer rating of 81.6.

Aikman was Enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2006.

Back to news