Immortality awaits


It has been nearly one year since the selection process began for determining who would comprise the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2011. First, two senior nominees were named in August. One month later, a list of 114 modern-era candidates was announced. At Thanksgiving, the Hall's Selection Committee trimmed that slate to 25 semifinalists and then to 15 finalists in January.

On February 5, 2011 on the day before Super Bowl XLV in North Texas, the 44-member Selection Committee huddled in a meeting room for most of the day to discuss the merits of each finalist. When the process was over and the envelope was handed to the Hall of Fame's President/Executive Director Steve Perry, the names of the Class of 2011 were revealed.

Tonight, those legends – Richard Dent, Marshall Faulk, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter, Ed Sabol, Deion Sanders, and Shannon Sharpe – join pro football's most elite fraternity when they are formally enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The Enshrinement Ceremony will be broadcast live on ESPN and NFL Network at 7 p.m. ET. NFL Network's pre-ceremony coverage begins at 4 p.m. ET.

Tickets to tonight's Enshrinement may be purchased on site at Will Call, located directly across from the Hall of Fame's main entrance.

Recent Comments
  • Kim Brown - August 06 2011 10:49 PM

    Congratulations to the newest Hall of Fame members. I have so much respect for all of you gentlement. Shannon, I lost my grandmother in 1990. Everyday, I pray that I become a woman she can be proud of. My prays are with you and Sterling. Growing up without a father, in the inner city of Chicago, I graduated from DePaul University. Currently, I work for a company that encourages children with their interests in acting, modeling, singing, and dancing. Tonights tributes were amazing and inspiring. Primetime, I have always been a fan. I would love to work with the TRUTH! Marshall, you were really a great member of "The Greatest Show on Turf." Again, congratulations to all of you gentlement. Da Bears!


First time posting? A confirmation email will be sent to you after submitting.

Your Comments

Your email address is required to confirm your comments. Email addresses are never displayed to other users and they are not used for any other purposes other than story comments.

Once you enter your email address, name, and comment, you will be emailed a link to confirm your comment. Additionally, you will be sent a password. In the future, if you wish to leave other comments, use the password that is provided in the email.