NFL's All-Decade Team of the 2000s

The National Football League's All-Decade Teams have been determined by the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee.

1920s1930s | 1940s  | 1950s | 1960s | 1970s  | 1980s | 1990s | 2000s


The first decade of the 2000s was highlighted by a number of memorable personal performances by the National Football League’s greatest stars. The 10-year span included Emmitt Smith breaking Walter Payton’s record to become the NFL’s all-time leading rusher; wide receiver Marvin Harrison shattering the single-season reception mark; and Michael Strahan establishing the record for sacks in a season.

As was the case with the previous eight NFL All-Decade Teams, the league called upon the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee to determine the All-Decade Team of the 2000s. The team was announced in late January 2010 in conjunction with Pro Bowl week. Perhaps the biggest debate for the group came with the vote for the quarterback position. In the end, three-time Super Bowl champion Tom Brady narrowly edged four-time MVP Peyton Manning for the first-team nod.




Recent Comments
    First time posting? A confirmation email will be sent to you after submitting.

    Your Comments

    Your email address is required to confirm your comments. Email addresses are never displayed to other users and they are not used for any other purposes other than story comments.

    Once you enter your email address, name, and comment, you will be emailed a link to confirm your comment. Additionally, you will be sent a password. In the future, if you wish to leave other comments, use the password that is provided in the email.