Brees and Unitas streak comparison


Legendary quarterback Johnny Unitas registered an incredible streak of 47 straight games with a touchdown pass. The mark was long regarded as pro football’s “unbreakable record” as it was never even remotely challenged for a half century. That was, until New Orleans Saints Drew Brees embarked on a string in 2009 that he has managed to keep alive until Week 13 of the 2012 season. Brees tied Unitas four weeks into the 2012 campaign and extended the streak to an incredible 54 straight games. Here is a comparison of the two streaks.

  54 47
  Drew Brees Johnny Unitas
Span Oct. 18, 2009-Nov. 25, 2012
Dec. 9, 1956-Dec. 4, 1960
Streak Details Game-by-Game Game-by-game
Win-Loss Record 38-16-0 31-16-0
Longest Winning Streak 9 games 8 games
Streak Broken By Atlanta Falcons
Los Angeles Rams
Attempts 2,142 1,298
Completions 1,468 696
Yards 16,789 10,645
TD 135 102
INT 56 61
Passer Rating 102.0 83.7
TD Targets Marques Colston (29) Raymond Berry (38)
  Jimmy Graham (24) Lenny Moore (27)
  Lance Moore (22) Jim Mutscheller (25)
  Robert Meacham (19) Alan Ameche (4)
  Darren Sproles (11) L.G. DuPre (3)
  Devery Henderson (5) Alex Hawkins (3)
  Pierre Thomas (5) Jerry Richardson (2)
  Jed Collins (4)  
  Reggie Bush (4)  
  Jeremy Shockey (4)  
  David Thomas (3)  
  Joe Morgan (2)  
  Darnell Dinkins (1)  
  Heath Evans (1)  
  John Gilmore (1)  

Unitas, Johnny
Recent Comments
    First time posting? A confirmation email will be sent to you after submitting.

    Your Comments

    Your email address is required to confirm your comments. Email addresses are never displayed to other users and they are not used for any other purposes other than story comments.

    Once you enter your email address, name, and comment, you will be emailed a link to confirm your comment. Additionally, you will be sent a password. In the future, if you wish to leave other comments, use the password that is provided in the email.