The 1920s


NFL Founded in Canton - the NFL, first known as the American Professional Football Association, was founded at Ralph Hay's Hupmobile dealership in downtown Canton, Ohio on September 17, 1920.

The Oorang Indians - this team from Marion, Ohio was comprised of Native American Indians that included legendary Jim Thorpe played two seasons in the NFL in the early 1920s.

 Grange's Debut - Harold "Red" Grange made his NFL debut on Thanksgiving Day in 1925.  His arrival on the pro scene resulted in huge crowds across the country.

Duluth, the one-dollar franchise - an NFL team played out of Duluth, Minnesota in the early days of the league. First known as the Kelleys, the team that featured Hall of Famer Ernie Nevers later changed its name to the Eskimos.

 Providence Steam Roller - the team, which played in a stadium made primarily for bike racing, hold the distinction of being the last team to win an NFL title (1928) that is no longer part of the league. 

Pre-NFL | 1920s | 1930s | 1940s | 1950s | 1960s | 1970s | 1980s | 1990s | 2000s