Suggs season preserved


The complete uniform worn by Baltimore Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs in the 2011 NFL season arrived at the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Thursday. Suggs was named the 2011 Associated Press Defensive Player of the Year for his performance last season. The helmet, jersey, pants, socks, and shoes he wore during the season were donated to the Hall of Fame by the team.

“We appreciate Terrell and the Ravens sending these mementos to us,” shared the Hall of Fame’s curator Jason Aikens. “This helps us achieve our mission of preserving the game’s great history and the players who’ve made an impact on the game.”

Suggs earned the honors after he recorded 70 tackles, registered 14 sacks, forced seven fumbles and picked off two passes for the Ravens’ defense that ranked near the top in almost every NFL category. Baltimore finished second overall in allowing a mere 322.5 yards per game and had the third-best total in points allowed and passing yards per game.

Suggs, who received 21 of 50 votes for the award, is the third Ravens player to win the AP Defensive Player of the Year honors. Linebacker Ray Lewis won it in 2000 and 2003 and safety Ed Reed was honored in 2004.

The award has been won by numerous members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame since it was first granted in 1971. They include Alan Page (1971), Joe Greene (1972, 1974), Mel Blount (1975), Jack Lambert (1976), Lee Roy Selmon (1979), Lawrence Taylor (1981, 1982, 1986), Mike Singletary (1985, 1988), Reggie White (1987, 1998), Bruce Smith (1990, 1996), Cortez Kennedy (1992), Rod Woodson (1993), and Deion Sanders (1994).

Baltimore Ravens
Recent Comments
First time posting? A confirmation email will be sent to you after submitting.

Your Comments

Your email address is required to confirm your comments. Email addresses are never displayed to other users and they are not used for any other purposes other than story comments.

Once you enter your email address, name, and comment, you will be emailed a link to confirm your comment. Additionally, you will be sent a password. In the future, if you wish to leave other comments, use the password that is provided in the email.