New England Patriots

Team History

1960-1970 Boston Patriots, 1971-present New England Patriots

The Patriots were charter members of the AFL in 1960 and played as the Boston Patriots through 1970.  Throughout the franchise's existence, the Patriots have been frequent contenders.  It was, however, most recently that New England raised their level of success.  Three Super Bowl championships in a four-year span – wins in Super Bowl XXXVI, XXXVIII and XXXIX - followed by a win in Super Bowl XLIX have assured the Patriots place in NFL history. A decade later, the Pats dominated another stretch of seasons, taking home another three Super Bowl championships in a five year span from 2014 until 2018, pushing the clubs total to six league championships. 

Team Greats

The New England Patriots have 11 Pro Football Hall of Famers and 32 members in their Ring of Fame. 

There are six players and coaches in both the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the Patriots Hall of Fame. 

Super Bowl Championships

2001 (XXXVI), 2003 (XXXVIII), 2004 (XXXIX), 2014 (XLIX), 2016 (LI), 2018 (LIII)

AFC Championships

1985, 1996, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2011, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018

All-Time Record

(At start of 2023 season) 537-420-9