Washington Commanders

Team History

1932 Boston Braves, 1933-36 Boston Redskins, 1937-2019 Washington Redskins, 2020-21 Washington Football Team, 2022-present Washington Commanders

The franchise has enjoyed winning ways and innovative personalities for much of the time since it joined the NFL as the Boston Braves in 1932. The team won the NFL title in 1937, its first season in Washington, and then added a second world championship in 1942. Since the AFL-NFL merger, as the Redskins, the team went to five NFC Championship Games and won three Super Bowls (XVII, XXII, XXVI). Washington changed its name after the 2019 season to the Football Team, and again the following season to their current name, the Commanders. 

Team Greats

The Washington franchise has 32 Pro Football Hall of Famers and 50 members in their Ring of Fame. 

There are 17 players and coaches in both the Hall of Fame and the Commanders' Ring of Fame. 

NFC East Division Championships

1972, 1983, 1984, 1987, 1991, 1999, 2012, 2015, 2020

NFL Championships & Super Bowls:

1937, 1942, 1982 (XVII), 1987 (XXII), 1991 (XXVI)

All-Time Record

(At start of 2023 season) 625-630-29

Super Bowl Championships


NFL Championships

1937, 1942

All-Time Record

(At Start of 2019 Season) 623-609-28