25 Modern-Era Semifinalists

Enshrinement Published on : 1/1/2005


In 2004, the procedure of reducing the preliminary list of modern-era nominees to 25 semifinalists was integrated into the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s selection process.  From the list, 13 of the semifinalists were named finalists along with two senior nominees.  Beginning in 2007, the list was reduced to 17 finalists that included 15 of the semi-finalists and two senior nominees.

*indicates that the semi-finalist became a finalist.
(Number in parentheses is the initial number of preliminary nominees from which the semifinalists were selected).

Note: In 2008, due to a tie, there were 26 semifinalists

(133 preliminary nominees)
Cris Carter*, Roger Craig, Terrell Davis, Dermontti Dawson*, Richard Dent*, Chris Doleman, Kevin Greene, Russ Grimm*, RayGuy, Charles Haley, Lester Hayes, Cortez Kennedy*, Bob Kuechenberg*, RANDALL MCDANIEL*, Art Modell, John Randle*,Andre Reed*, Shannon Sharpe*, BRUCE SMITH*, Ken Stabler, Paul Tagliabue*, Steve Tasker, DERRICK THOMAS*, RALPH WILSON, JR.*, ROD WOODSON*

(124 preliminary nominees)
Cris Carter*, Terrell Davis, Dermontti Dawson, FRED DEAN*, Richard Dent*, Randy Gradishar*, DARRELL GREEN*, Kevin Greene, Russ Grimm*, Ray Guy*, Charles Haley, Lester Hayes, Rickey Jackson, Joe Jacoby, Cortez Kennedy, Bob Kuechenberg*, Randall McDaniel*, ART MONK*, Andre Reed*, Ken Stabler, Paul Tagliabue*, Steve Tasker, Derrick Thomas*, ANDRE TIPPETT*, George Young, GARY ZIMMERMAN*

(111 preliminary nominees)
Terrell Davis, Dermontti Dawson, Fred Dean*, Richard Dent*, Randy Gradishar, Kevin Greene, Russ Grimm*, Ray Guy*, Charles Haley, Lester Hayes, MICHAEL IRVIN*, Bob Kuechenberg*, BRUCE MATTHEWS*, Randall McDaniel, Art Modell, Art Monk*, Andre Reed*, Ken Stabler, Paul Tagliabue*, Derrick Thomas*, THURMAN THOMAS*, Andre Tippett*, ROGER WEHRLI*, George Young, Gary Zimmerman*

(112 preliminary nominees)
TROY AIKMAN*, HARRY CARSON*, Dermontti Dawson, Fred Dean, Richard Dent, Randy Gradishar, L. C. Greenwood*, Russ Grimm*, Ray Guy, Lester Hayes, Claude Humphrey*, Michael Irvin*, Bob Kuechenberg*, Art Modell, Art Monk, WARREN MOON*, Andre Reed, Ken Stabler, Derrick Thomas*, Thurman Thomas*, Roger Wehrli, REGGIE WHITE*, Ralph Wilson, Jr., George Young, Gary Zimmerman

(90 preliminary nominees)
Harry Carson, Don Coryell, Fred Dean, Richard Dent*, Chris Doleman, Randy Gradishar,  L. C. Greenwood*, Russ Grimm*, Ray Guy, Charles Haley, Lester Hayes,  Claude Humphrey*, Michael Irvin*, Joe Jacoby, Bob Kuechenberg*, DAN MARINO*, Art Modell, Art Monk*, Ken Stabler,  Derrick Thomas*,  Roger Wehrli*,  Ralph Wilson, Jr., George Young*, STEVE YOUNG*, Gary Zimmerman

(67 preliminary nominees)
Cliff Branch, Harry Carson*, Richard Dent, CARL ELLER*, JOHN ELWAY*, Randy Gradishar, L. C. Greenwood, Russ Grimm, Ray Guy, Cliff Harris*, Lester Hayes*, Claude Humphrey, Bob Kuechenberg*, Jim Marshall*, Art Modell, Art Monk*, BARRY SANDERS*, Donnie Shell, Ken Stabler, Steve Tasker, Roger Wehrli, Ralph Wilson, Jr., Rayfield Wright*, George Young*, Gary Zimmerman*