Notes and Quotes on the Class of 2006

General Published on : 1/1/2005


Troy_Aikman At age 39, is one of just 17 inductees who were under the age of 40 at the time of their enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The youngest individual ever inducted into the Hall of Fame was Gale Sayers, age 34 in 1977.

Just the third quarterback drafted first overall to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. He follows in the footsteps of Terry Bradshaw and John Elway. He is also one of a dozen members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame to be selected first overall in the draft. The others include Bill Dudley (1942), Charley Trippi (1945), Chuck Bednarik (1949), Paul Hornung (1957), Buck Buchanan (1963 - AFL), Ron Yary (1968), O.J. Simpson (1969), Bradshaw (1970), Lee Roy Selmon (1976), Earl Campbell (1978), and Elway (1983)

Won 90 games as a starting quarterback during the 1990s. No quarterback in history won more games in a single decade than Aikman's total.

"His leadership and focus are what made us the team we were in the 1990s. I am glad to see that he is now being recognized for all the things he did for the Dallas Cowboys and the entire National Football League." - Teammate Emmitt Smith
Held or tied 47 Dallas Cowboys records at the time of his retirement.

Became the first Cowboys' rookie QB to start a season opener since fellow Hall of Famer Roger Staubach in 1969.

Named Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XXVII after completing 22 of 30 passes for 273 yards and four TDs in the Cowboys' 52-17 win over the Buffalo Bills.



"He played middle linebacker like a man among boys. Harry was a warrior who led by example. He was a great player and a great team leader. Harry didn't back down from anybody or any challenge. He was very good…now it's safe to say he was great, because he's finally in the Hall of Fame." - Carl Banks, teammate
 The 18th member of the New York Giants to earn election to the Hall of Fame. Previously enshrined Giants include "Red" Badgro, Roosevelt Brown, Benny Friedman, Frank Gifford, Mel Hein, Sam Huff, "Tuffy" Leemans, Tim Mara, Wellington Mara, Steve Owen, Andy Robustelli, Ken Strong, Fran Tarkenton, Lawrence Taylor, Y.A. Tittle, Emlen Tunnell, and Arnie Weinmeister.  

Starred as a defensive end at South Carolina State. He was converted to a linebacker during his rookie training camp with the Giants.

Harry_Carson Never missed a game during his four-year collegiate football career.

The third South Carolina State alum to earn election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Other HOFers who went to South Carolina State were Marion Motley and Deacon Jones.

Scored three career touchdowns - 22-yard fumble return for the winning score in a 21-17 victory over the Kansas City Chiefs in 1979; a 14-yard interception return of a Joe Montana pass in the 1984 divisional playoff; and a 13-yard TD reception on a fake field goal play against the Eagles in 1986.

Had 25 tackles (20 solo, 5 assists) in a Monday Night game against the Green Bay Packers in 1982.



John_Madden The 13th Oakland Raider elected to the Hall. Other Hall of Fame members from the silver-and-black are Marcus Allen, Fred Biletnikoff, George Blanda, Willie Brown, Dave Casper, Al Davis, Mike Haynes, Ted Hendricks, Howie Long, Jim Otto, Art Shell, and Gene Upshaw.

One of youngest head coaches in NFL history. He was just 32 years old when he was named coach of the Oakland Raiders in 1969.

Led the Raiders to a 12-1-1 record and division title during his first season as coach. He was named the AFL's Coach of the Year that season.

"One of his great virtues, the fire that burned brightest in him, was his love for football and his passion for it. His passion for it is seldom ever equaled." - Oakland Raiders owner and Hall of Famer Al Davis
Led the Raiders to 17 straight wins over a two-season period, 1976-77.

The Raiders never suffered a losing season with Madden as their coach. He led the team to eight playoff appearances and a victory in Super Bowl XI.

His .759 regular season winning percentage remains the highest ever among coaches with 100 career victories.



"Warren opened the door for a lot of us. When he came out of Washington as the Pac-10 Player of the Year and the Rose Bowl MVP, he didn't get any calls about being drafted, so he had a decision to make: Trying to sign as an undrafted free agent or go to the CFL. Warren did it the hard way, and that opened the door for a lot of us." - Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Donovan McNabb
 The first African American quarterback to be elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.  

 Led the Canadian Football League's Edmonton Eskimos to five straight Grey Cup wins.

Warren_Moon Passed for 3,000 yards in a season nine times and reached the 4,000-yard mark four times.

 First QB ever to pass for 4,000 yards for two different teams (Oilers and Vikings).

The sixth long-time member of the Tennessee Titans franchise, which operated as the Houston Oilers from 1960-1996, in the Hall. The others included Elvin Bethea, George Blanda, Earl Campbell, Ken Houston, and Mike Munchak.

At age 44, he started at quarterback for the Chiefs in a game against the Chargers on Nov. 26, 2000.



Reggie_White The only member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame to wear #91 or #92.

Wore #91 during his first season with the Philadelphia Eagles after joining the team in Week 4 of the 1985 NFL season. His familiar #92, which he wore in the USFL, was being used by Smiley Creswell, a first-year defensive end. Creswell's NFL career was short-lived and ended after three games with the Eagles that year. As such, White changed to #92 the following season and wore that number for the remainder of his Hall of Fame career.

The ninth Philadelphia Eagle to be elected to the Hall of Fame. He joins Chuck Bednarik, Bert Bell, Bob Brown, Sonny Jurgensen, Tommy McDonald, "Greasy" Neale, Pete Pihos, and Steve Van Buren.

"I don't know if there has been a physical defensive end like him. To this day - the club move - I don't remember anybody who could take his right arm coming from the left side and hit those damn tackles in the left shoulder and just annihilate them. The guy was just uncanny physically. He was just special. I don't know that anybody has combined the strength, speed ratio the guy had." - Mike Giddings, scout
The 21st Green Bay Packer representative in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Famers who made a major contribution to pro football as a member of the Packers organization include: Herb Adderley, Tony Canadeo, Willie Davis, Forrest Gregg, Arnie Herber, Clarke Hinkle, Paul Hornung, Cal Hubbard, Don Hutson, Henry Jordan, "Curly" Lambeau, James Lofton, Vince Lombardi, "Blood" McNally, Mike Michalske, Ray Nitschke, Jim Ringo, Bart Starr, Jim Taylor, and Willie Wood.

The 18th member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame to be enshrined posthumously.

Accumulated 124 sacks in 121 games a member of the Philadelphia Eagles.

The Packers' all-time sack leader. He amassed 68.5 sacks during his six seasons in Green Bay.



"Thanks to my teammate Rayfield Wright, I made it into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. He was the very best at his position in the NFL and I am proud he is now in the Hall of Fame." - Hall of Fame quarterback Roger Staubach
Also used as a tight end and defensive end during his first three NFL seasons.

Wright_Notes Offered a contract to play in the NBA with the Cincinnati Royals.

Named All-NFL six straight seasons, 1971-1976.

Played in five Super Bowls including four starts at right tackle.

Named to the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 1970s.

Wright and Troy Aikman are the eighth and ninth long-time members of the Dallas Cowboys to be elected to the Hall of Fame. The duo was preceded by Tony Dorsett, Tom Landry, Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Tex Schramm, Roger Staubach, and Randy White.