If elected...special notes on 2009 finalists - by team

Enshrinement Published on : 1/6/2009


The Buffalo Bills and Minnesota Vikings have three finalists, and the Pittsburgh Steelers have two. The Atlanta Falcons, Chicago Bears, Dallas Cowboys, Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs, Miami Dolphins, Seattle Seahawks, and the Washington Redskins each have one finalist who spent all or a significant part of their careers with that team.

If elected. . .

Cris Carter, Randall McDaniel and/or John Randle would be the ninth, 10th, and/or 11th Minnesota Vikings player(s) elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join Carl Eller, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Alan Page, Fran Tarkenton, and Gary Zimmerman.

Dermontti Dawson

Dermontti Dawson and/or Rod Woodson would be 18th and/or 19th longtime Pittsburgh Steelers elected to the Hall of Fame. Other Steelers Hall of Fame members include Mel Blount, Terry Bradshaw, Bill Dudley, Joe Greene, Jack Ham, Franco Harris, John Henry Johnson, Walt Kiesling, Jack Lambert, Bobby Layne, Chuck Noll, Art Rooney, Dan Rooney, John Stallworth, Ernie Stautner, Lynn Swann, and Mike Webster.

Richard Dent would be the 27th long-time Chicago Bear to be added to the Hall of Fame honor roll. Doug Atkins, George Blanda, Dick Butkus, George Connor, Mike Ditka, John “Paddy” Driscoll, Jim Finks, Dan Fortmann, Bill George, Harold “Red” Grange, George Halas, Dan Hampton, Ed Healey, Bill Hewitt, Stan Jones, Sid Luckman, Link Lyman, George McAfee, George Musso, Bronko Nagurski, Walter Payton, Gale Sayers, Mike Singletary, Joe Stydahar, George Trafton, and Clyde “Bulldog” Turner are the others.

Russ Grimm would be the 18th Washington Redskins Hall of Fame member. He would join George Allen, Cliff Battles, Sammy Baugh, Bill Dudley, Albert Glen “Turk” Edwards, Ray Flaherty, Joe Gibbs, Darrell Green, Ken Houston, Sam Huff, Sonny Jurgensen, George Preston Marshall, Wayne Millner, Bobby Mitchell, Art Monk, John Riggins, and Charley Taylor.

Bob Hayes would be the 11th Dallas Cowboys Hall of Fame member. Troy Aikman, Tony Dorsett, Michael Irvin, Tom Landry, Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Tex Schramm, Roger Staubach, Randy White, and Rayfield Wright are the current Cowboys Hall of Fame members.

Andre Reed

Claude Humphrey would be the first player to play a significant part of his career with the Atlanta Falcons to be elected to the Hall of Fame.

Cortez Kennedy would join Steve Largent as the second longtime Seattle Seahawk elected to the Hall of Fame.

Bob Kuechenberg would be the 10th long-time member of the Miami Dolphins to be elected. Nick Buoniconti, Larry Csonka, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Dan Marino, Don Shula, Dwight Stephenson, and Paul Warfield are the other Dolphins Hall of Fame members.

Andre Reed, Bruce Smith and/or Ralph Wilson, Jr. would be the 7th, 8th, and/or 9th Buffalo Bills Hall of Fame member(s). They would join Joe DeLamielleure, Jim Kelly, Marv Levy, Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, and Thurman Thomas.

Shannon Sharpe would join John Elway and Gary Zimmerman as the third member of the Denver Broncos elected to the Hall of Fame.

Derrick Thomas would be the 9th Kansas City Chiefs Hall of Fame member. He would join Bobby Bell, Buck Buchanan, Len Dawson, Lamar Hunt, Willie Lanier, Jan Stenerud, Hank Stram and Emmitt Thomas.