Fan’s Choice tour stops in Denver

Hall of Famers Published on : 11/23/2009
Click here to see photos of the Nov. 22nd event>>>

The Van Heusen Pro Football Hall of Fame Fan’s Choice tour made its fourth stop at a NFL stadium during the 2009 NFL season when it staged an event at INVESCO Field at Mile High on Sunday. Three legendary members of the Pro Football Hall of Famers – John Elway (Class of 2004), Gary Zimmerman (2008) and Kellen Winslow (1995) – took part in the event offered to fans at no charge prior to the Broncos-Chargers game.

Elway addressed the sea of Orange and encouraged them to voice their choice for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2010.

According to Elway, “We are all in this together – players, coaches, owners, referees – and especially you the fans.”

The fans listened as the three Hall of Famers recounted memories from their playing days, shared what it means to be in the Hall of Fame and discussed who should be elected as part of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2010.

“Induction into the Hall of Fame is the greatest compliment we could have as football players,” stated Elway.

“I never expected to be in the Hall of Fame,” added Zimmerman, “but it has validated all the days I didn’t want to go and work out and all the injuries I played through.”

Fans can vote at but who do Elway, Winslow and Zimmerman think should be in the Class of 2010.
Zimmerman: “Shannon Sharpe deserves to be in the Hall of Fame. There has been a west coast bias. I would also like to see Chris Doleman inducted.”

Winslow: “Everyone runs some version of the west coast offense today and impacted the entire league. The same
terminology is still being used 20 years later. Without a doubt, Don Coryell.”

Elway thought former Broncos Randy Gradishar, Floyd Little, Karl Mecklenberg, Steve Atwater and Terrell Davis.

This year marks the first time that fans are being asked to voice their choice for the players they think should be enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The fans can vote for the Class of 2010 at the dedicated fan forum at and although the fan’s vote does not count toward the official selection, the Hall of Fame will hear what the fans have to say and the Fan’s Choice will be revealed on the NFL Network on February 6, 2010 in South Florida.

Since Fan’s Choice launched on Sept. 19, 2009 more than 185,000 votes have been cast. The Top 10 vote getters through Sunday include:

1) Jerry Rice
2) Emmitt Smith
3) Cris Carter
4) Ray Guy
5) Shannon Sharpe
6) Tim Brown
7) Otho Davis
8) Richard Dent
9) Charles Haley
10) Jim Plunkett

The next stop on the Fan’s Choice tour will take place at Giants Stadium on December 13, 2009, when the Giants take on the Eagles.

Voice your Choice! See our coverage of the JC Penney/Van Heusen Fan's Choice promotion>>>