NFL Europa

History Published on : 10/24/2012

The National Football League fielded a professional football league to grow the game on a global scale. The league underwent numerous name changes during its 15 seasons of existence. It began as the World League of American Football to World League to NFL Europe and then NFL Europa.

Teams from across the globe competed in NFLE during the league’s history from the early 1990s through 2007. The following is a listing of all the NFLE teams and years of operation.

Amsterdam Admirals 1995-2007
Barcelona Dragons 1991-92, 2003
Berlin Thunder 1999-2007
Birmingham Fire 1991-1992
Cologne Centurions 2004-2007
Frankfurt Galaxy 1991-92, 1995-2007
Hamburg Sea Devils 2005-2007
London Monarchs 1991-92, 1995-1998
Montreal Machine 1991-1992
NY/NJ Knights 1991-1992
Ohio Glory 1992
Orlando Thunder 1991-1992
Raleigh-Durham Skyhawks 1991
Rhein Fire 1995-2007
Sacramento Surge 1991-1992
San Antonio Riders 1991-1992
Scottish Claymores 1995-2004