2013 Award for Excellence Winner

2013 Award for Excellence Winner

See All News

Andrew Way with his parents Gregory and Janice.

The U.S. Army and the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the winner of the “Award for Excellence” in San Antonio, Texas on Saturday, Jan. 4, 2014. Andrew Way, a high school senior from Conner High School in Hebron, Ky., was named the recipient of the award during the awards show at the U.S. Army All-American Bowl. Andrew was one of ten finalists vying for the honor.

The program, which was open to all United States sophomore and junior high school athletes, focused on not only athletic achievement, but also excellence in academics and community service.

“The nominees for the Award for Excellence possess a unique set of strengths and adherence to a core set of values shared by Army Strong Soldiers,” said Mark Davis, deputy assistant Secretary of the Army for Marketing and director of the Army Marketing and Research Group. “Andrew is an outstanding scholar, athlete and citizen and we are proud that he is our recipient of this prestigious honor. We look forward to continuing our relationship with the Pro Football Hall of Fame, which allows us to celebrate the achievements of America’s youth”

In addition to announcing this year’s winner, the Army and the Pro Football Hall of Fame will extend the partnership and “Award for Excellence” program into the 2014-15 year.

"The Pro Football Hall of Fame is proud to continue its mission to educate and promote the excellence that comes with America's favorite game, football, and combine it with the U.S. Army's mission of excellence in school, community service and through athletics,” said George Veras, President and CEO, Pro Football Hall of Fame Enterprises. “We are excited to continue our partnership with the U.S. Army and to recognize student-athletes across the country for their outstanding achievements and hard work.”

The ten finalists for the Award for Excellence (in alphabetical order):

Jake Barann, Allen Park High School, Allen Park, Michigan
Teaghan Dishman, Delta High School, Muncie, Indiana
Parker Hawk, Camp Verde High School, Phoenix, Arizona
Cassie Jakubick, St. Vincent – St. Mary’s High School, Akron, Ohio
Evan Landers, Cathedral High School, Springfield, Massachusetts
Daniel Miller, Lakeland High School, White Lake, Michigan 
Tanner Napier, Paris High School, Paris, Texas
Zach Peck, Windsor High School, Windsor, Colorado
Kaitelyn Vachon, R. Nelson Snider High School, Fort Wayne, Indiana
Andrew Way, Conner High School, Hebron, Kentucky

Related links:

Inaugural Award for Excellence Winner
Visit www.goarmy.com/AAB  
Online exhibit: Football & America

Back to news