Tom Jackson Named Winner of Prestigious Pete Rozelle Radio-TV Award

Enshrinement Published on : 7/7/2015
Tom Jackson of ESPN has been named the 2015 recipient of the prestigious Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award. The award, presented annually by the Pro Football Hall of Fame, recognizes “longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.” Jackson will be recognized during the 2015 Enshrinement Ceremony on Saturday, August 8.

His long association with the game has been marked by great success on and off the football field. He joined ESPN in 1987 following a stellar 14-year NFL career as a linebacker for the Denver Broncos.


“Playing in the National Football League was a dream come true, but never did it occur to me that I’d have a second career so gratifying and an award like this bestowed upon me,” Jackson commented. “I admire and deeply respect the former recipients of the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award. I’m so honored to join this club. And to all those who have contributed to my success as a broadcaster, I humbly and sincerely say thank you.”

The Cleveland, Ohio native is regarded as one of the NFL’s leading pro football analysts and in 2009 was awarded the Sports Emmy in the Outstanding Studio Analyst category. For more than a quarter century, he has teamed with host Chris Berman on the network’s popular Sunday NFL Countdown, which has garnered seven Sports Emmys over the years. Berman won the Pete Rozelle Radio-TV Award in 2010.

“For almost three decades, Tom has brought the same enthusiasm to our studio shows as he did to Denver’s ‘Orange Crush’ defense. He has strong relationships with players and coaches throughout the league and he has demonstrated the ability to connect with fans on a very personal level. He is highly deserving of this honor,” shared John Wildhack, ESPN’s executive vice president of programming and production.   

From 1987 through 2005, Jackson and Berman also hosted the critically acclaimed NFL Primetime highlights shows, which was cable television’s top rated studio program. Since 2006, Jackson has continued to deliver his unique and informative insight on NFL highlights as part of ESPN’s Sports Center. He also serves as an analyst on the network’s Monday Night Football pregame show, Monday Night Countdown.

In addition to his role in the studio, Jackson provides analysis during ESPN’s on-site coverage of the Super Bowl, and the annual Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony. He will again be a part of ESPN’s broadcast team for this year’s Enshrinement. The Class of 2015 – Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Charles Haley, Bill Polian, Junior Seau, Will Shields, Mick Tingelhoff and Ron Wolf – will be formally enshrined during the ceremony held in Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium at 7 pm EDT on August 8.

Jackson’s broadcast career began as a co-host of the “Broncos Beat” weekly program on KCNC-TV in Denver and the post-game show on KUSA-TV. He also served as the host of “Behind the Line,” a daily syndicated sports commentary radio show.

He was selected out of the University of Louisville in the 4th round of the 1973 NFL Draft. Jackson embarked on a playing career that earned him induction into the Broncos’ Ring of Fame. He held, at the time of his retirement, the team record for most seasons (14) and games played (191). He earned three Pro Bowl berths and was named Denver’s Most Valuable Player three times. In all, he intercepted 20 passes in his career including three returned for touchdowns.

Past winners of the Pete Rozelle Radio-TV Award:
2014 – Bob Trumpy
2013 – Al Michaels
2012 – Len Dawson
2011 – Jim Nantz
2010 – Chris Berman
2009 – Irv Cross
2008 – Dan Dierdorf
2007 – Don Meredith
2006 – Lesley Visser
2005 – Myron Cope
2004 – Van Miller
2003 – Don Criqui
2002 – John Madden
2001 – Roone Arledge
2000 – Ray Scott
1999 – Dick Enberg
1998 – Val Pinchbeck
1997 – Charlie Jones
1996 – Jack Buck
1995 – Frank Gifford
1994 – Pat Summerall
1993 – Curt Gowdy
1992 – Chris Schenkel
1991 – Ed Sabol
1990 – Lindsey Nelson
1989 – Bill McPhail