James Brown of CBS Sports has been named the 2016 recipient of the prestigious Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award. The award, presented annually by the Pro Football Hall of Fame, recognizes “longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.” Brown will be presented with the award at the Enshrinement Ceremony on Saturday, August 6 in Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium.

“JB is the gold standard of NFL studio hosts and the Pete Rozelle Award is a testament to his outstanding contributions to the NFL throughout his 33-year career,” said Sean McManus, Chairman, CBS Sports.  “He is one of the NFL’s most distinguished voices and often sets the tone for discussions both on and off the field. There is no one more deserving of this recognition than James Brown.”

Brown is the current host of “The NFL Today” on CBS and “Thursday Night Football” aired on CBS and NFL Network. A three-time Emmy Award-winning network broadcaster, Brown has hosted the Super Bowl eight times including Super Bowl 50 on CBS. In 2010, SI.com named Brown the Best Studio Host of the Decade.

“As great as James Brown is as a broadcaster, he’s an even greater man,” commented Hall of Fame President David Baker. “People who watch him on TV see his professionalism but they don’t see the impact he has made on others in the industry and his community.”

Brown is also a Special Correspondent for CBS News and contributes to various programs such as “60 Minutes” and “CBS This Morning.”

Among his previous broadcasting roles were co-hosting of “Fox NFL Sunday,” working as a correspondent for “Real Sports” with Bryant Gumbel on HBO, and hosting a nationally syndicated radio show on Sporting News Radio.

In 2009, Brown wrote his first book and memoir, “Role of a Lifetime: Reflections on Faith, Family and Significant Living.” He is a co-founder and principal of the Brown Technology Group, a certified minority-owned and operated information technology company, and is a founding partner of the Major League Baseball’s Washington Nationals. Brown is a partner with FullCircle Intermedia, a company that assists athletes and entertainers in developing their brand to ensure long-term success.

An ordained minister, Brown is no stranger to charitable works. He works on behalf of DC College Access Program (DCCAP) and The Salvation Army. Among numerous honors, Brown most recently received “The Uncommon Award” from TONY DUNGY, a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2016, for his “uncommon leadership through character and faith.”

Brown is a Washington, D.C., native and a 1973 graduate of Harvard University, where he was a three-time All-Ivy selection in basketball and captained the team as a senior.

Past winners of the Pete Rozelle Radio-TV Award:

2015 – Tom Jackson
2014 – Bob Trumpy
2013 – Al Michaels
2012 – Len Dawson
2011 – Jim Nantz
2010 – Chris Berman
2009 – Irv Cross
2008 – Dan Dierdorf
2007 – Don Meredith
2006 – Lesley Visser
2005 – Myron Cope
2004 – Van Miller
2003 – Don Criqui
2002 – John Madden
2001 – Roone Arledge
2000 – Ray Scott
1999 – Dick Enberg
1998 – Val Pinchbeck
1997 – Charlie Jones
1996 – Jack Buck
1995 – Frank Gifford
1994 – Pat Summerall
1993 – Curt Gowdy
1992 – Chris Schenkel
1991 – Ed Sabol
1990 – Lindsey Nelson
1989 – Bill McPhail