Brett Favre inducted into Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame


Brett Favre, a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the holder of numerous NFL records, received another honor this past weekend in his longtime home state.

Favre and a former Green Bay Packers teammate, wide receiver Jordy Nelson, were added to the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony was held Friday evening at the state’s Athletic Hall of Fame at Lac La Belle Golf Club in Oconomowoc. Another former Packers wide receiver, Donald Driver, served as master of ceremonies.

Favre played 16 of his 20 NFL seasons in Green Bay, passing for 61,655 yards and 442 touchdowns. He led the Packers to a 35-21 victory over the New England Patriots in Super Bowl XXXI and won three league MVP awards.

Nelson played nine of his 10 NFL seasons in Green Bay, accumulating 7,848 receiving yards, 63 touchdowns and one Super Bowl trophy (Super Bowl XLV). He was named the NFL’s 2016 Comeback Player of the Year, returning to play all 16 games and recording 97 receptions for 1,257 yards and a league-high 14 touchdowns in helping the Packers reach the NFC Championship Game after missing the entire 2015 season due to injury.

The Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1951. Its 145 members include Vince Lombardi, Bart Starr and numerous other Packers and also cover the gamut of amateur and professional sports with Hank Aaron (baseball), Oscar Robertson (pro basketball), Barry Alvarez (college football), Bonnie Blair (Olympic speed skating) and Al McGuire (college basketball) also among the inductees.