Hall of Famer John Randle added to Burlsworth Trophy selection committee 

Pro Football Hall of Famer JOHN RANDLE was one of four people added this week to the Burlsworth Trophy selection committee. 

The award is presented annually to the most outstanding NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) player who began his college career as a walk-on. The Burlsworth Trophy is named in honor of the late Brandon Burlsworth, who is considered the greatest walk-on player in college football history. 

Joining Randle as new selection committee members are Fox Sports’ Tom Rinaldi, ESPN’s Lisa Salters and sports columnist Ivan Maisel of On3.com. 

In addition to her role with ESPN, Salters serves as a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 49-person Selection Committee. 

Randle signed a contract as an undrafted free agent with the Minnesota Vikings in 1990. He showed signs of becoming one of the NFL’s most dominant pass rushers during his second NFL season when he recorded 9.5 sacks.

The following year he added 11.5 sacks, which marked the first of eight seasons in a row with double-digit sack totals. In the 1993 season, Randle registered 12.5 sacks, amassed 59 tackles and forced three fumbles to earn All-Pro honors and a Pro Bowl invitation for the first time. It began a string of six consecutive All-Pro and Pro Bowl seasons for Randle.

He improved his sack total again in 1994 with an NFC-high 13.5 sacks. In all, Randle amassed 137.5 sacks during his 14-season career. He was enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2010. 

Without one Division I scholarship offer, Burlsworth walked on to the Arkansas Razorbacks team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and eventually was named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL Draft, but he died in a car accident 11 days later. 

The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children who have limited opportunities. For a full narrative of the Foundation’s work, visit brandonburlsworth.org

The Burlsworth Trophy is an award from the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Visit ncfaa.org and @NCFAA on Twitter to learn more about the association. 

To learn more about the award and the other selection committee members, go to www.burlsworthtrophy.com/