NFL announces 8 finalists for 2022 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award 

  • Winner to be revealed as part of NFL Honors before Super Bowl LVII

The eight finalists for the 2022 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award have been named, the NFL announced Thursday. The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

The finalists, featuring four players from each conference, are defensive end Calais Campbell (Baltimore), running back Nick Chubb (Cleveland), defensive end Maxx Crosby (Las Vegas) and defensive end Jerry Hughes (Houston) in the AFC, and linebacker Lavonte David (Tampa Bay), running back Dalvin Cook (Minnesota), running back Aaron Jones (Green Bay) and fullback Kyle Juszczyk (San Francisco) in the NFC.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community selected the eight finalists from the 32 NFL club nominees. The panel is comprised of Warrick Dunn, Larry Fitzgerald, Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler. The eight finalists were listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category.

“It's been a pleasure to read and learn about this year's nominees for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award who are displaying the characteristics of his legacy and truly showing what it means to continue to live it out,” said Dunn. “The Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award represents teamwork, competitiveness, hard work and integrity, while on the field. These are qualities that I believe every NFL player should strive to achieve.”

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY SR.





DE Calais Campbell

Baltimore Ravens


RB Nick Chubb

Cleveland Browns


RB Dalvin Cook

Minnesota Vikings


DE Maxx Crosby

Las Vegas Raiders


LB Lavonte David

Tampa Bay Buccaneers


DE Jerry Hughes

Houston Texans


RB Aaron Jones

Green Bay Packers


FB Kyle Juszczyk

San Francisco 49ers


To learn more about the award and past recipients, check out the full news release from the NFL here.