Pro Football Hall of Fame presents 2023 Awards of Excellence for 17 winners

The Pro Football Hall of Fame recognized the 17 recipients of the second annual Awards of Excellence today in Canton. The program was launched by the Hall last year to recognize significant contributors to the game of professional football. 

On Wednesday, the Hall celebrated the 17 honorees with an evening reception at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium. The awards were presented to the individuals or to representative today at a luncheon inside the Nash Family Event & Conference Center at the Hall, hosted by Hall of Famer DAN FOUTS

2023 Awards of Excellence recipients were: 

Assistant Coaches Sherman Lewis, Tom Moore and Dante Scarnecchia

Athletic Trainers J. Lindsy McLean, Bob Reese and Lamar “Bubba” Tyer

Equipment Managers William T. “Buck” Buchanan, Robert “Bob” Noel and Bill Simmons

Film/Video Directors Mike Dougherty, Milan “Mickey” Dukich, Thom Fermstad, Henry Kunttu and Al Treml

Public Relations Personnel Greg Aiello, Kevin Byrne and Budd Thalman

“We couldn’t be where we are today, this great game, without you all,” said Fouts during the luncheon. 

The five groups presenting the Awards of Excellence created their own selection committees and set their own criteria for choosing the 2023 class members. The Hall did not participate in any nominations or voting. 

You can watch as they received their awards here or in the video player below.

Learn more about this year's recipients here.