Team History

1966-present Atlanta Falcons

The Falcons joined the NFL as an expansion team in 1966. Over the years, the Falcons have fielded exciting teams that have supplied a fair share of memorable moments. Atlanta registered its first winning season in 1971 and first division title in 1980. Perhaps the pinnacle of success for the Falcons came in 1998 when Atlanta won the NFC championship and earned a berth in Super Bowl XXXIII. In 2016, the franchise claimed their second conference championship and appeared in Super Bowl LI against the New England Patriots. 

Team Greats

The Atlanta Falcons have nine Pro Football Hall of Famers and 11 members in their Ring of Honor. 

There are two members in both the Hall of Fame and the Falcons Ring of Honor. 

Franchise Granted

June 30, 1965

NFC Championship

1998, 2016

NFC Western Division Championships

1980, 1998

NFC South Division Championship

2004, 2010, 2012, 2016

All-Time Record

(At start of 2023 season) 383-493-6