In Canton, a player doesn’t pick under what team he enters Hall.


The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown, NY announced today the logo selections for the Hall of Fame plaques of its 2010 inductees. So baseball fans now know that Andre Dawson’s plaque will have him in a Montreal Expos hat.

Which brings me to the point of this blog that hopefully will answer most football fans commonly asked question of us, especially when someone like Kurt Warner or Brett Favre starts hinting at retirement.

How does the Pro Football Hall of Fame determine under which team someone is enshrined?

The answer is simple. We don’t!

An individual is elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame as a player, coach, or contributor not as a member of a declared team. Also, it helps that our bronze busts don’t have helmets or coaching caps.

However, even though an enshrinee doesn’t choose a team, you will notice that we list enshrinees by team on our website, in our publications, and at the museum in Canton. We always list every team for which a person was associated. Our lists are broken down by noting whether an inductee spent a MAJOR or MINOR portion of his career with a team.

Assuming that Favre and Warner don’t come back next season, they’d be eligible for the Class of 2015. Further assuming that they get elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Favre’s name would show up under the Green Bay Packers but he’d also be noted as spending a “minor” portion of his career with the New York Jets and Minnesota Vikings. Warner, on the other hand, would have his name listed under the St. Louis Rams and the Arizona Cardinals with a notation about him spending a brief or “minor part” of his career with the New York Giants.

Hope this clears up the issue!

Previous Next
Go back to all blog listings