A Hall of Fame Super Bowl


There’s no doubt that the National Football League has deep appreciation for the history of the game and especially the players who’ve paved the way for those on the rosters of the Saints and Colts on Sunday night.

For the first time ever, the NFL involved our newest class in the pre-game coin toss. Just over 24 hours after they were elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the Class of 2010 – Russ Grimm, Rickey Jackson, Dick LeBeau, Floyd Little, John Randle, Jerry Rice, and Emmitt Smith – stepped to midfield and were introduced to the Sun Life Stadium crowd and the world-wide television audience. Smith did the honors as he flipped the coin. Incidentally, that coin will find its way to Canton over the next few days.

Following the Saints exciting win in the game, Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback and Super Bowl IV hero Len Dawson walked the Vince Lombardi Trophy through a mob of Saints players to the stage for its official presentation to the team.

I thought it was real nice touch to link the past with the excitement of this year’s Super Bowl.

Previous Next
Go back to all blog listings