Selection Process

Charged with the vital task of continuing to be sure that new enshrinees are the finest the game has produced is the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Selection Committee (see list below).

FAQ about the Hall's selection process

The Committee consists of one media representative from each pro football city with two from New York, inasmuch as that city has two teams in the National Football League. A 33rd member is a representative of the Pro Football Writers of America and there are up to 17 at-large delegates.

GalleryWith the exception of the PFWA representative, who is appointed for a two-year term, all appointments are of the open-end variety and can be terminated only by retirement or resignation, as long as the member continues to attend meetings regularly.

The Selection Committee meets annually, shortly before the Super Bowl, to elect new members. There is no set number for any class of enshrinees, but the Committee's current bylaws stipulate that between four and nine new members will be selected each year. The 1973 and 1976 classes of three were the smallest named.

Every candidate is carefully scrutinized and must receive at least 80% approval of the Committee at the annual meeting before he or she can be elected.

When the Selectors meet to name the Class of 2024, they will have before them a roster of up to 19 final candidates, along with detailed biographies on each. To assure that older players will be considered, the Seniors Committee -- made up of 12 members of the overall Selection Committee -- will have chosen up to three nominees who played no more recently than the 1998 season to be included on the final list. 

A bylaws change to the selection process was approved by the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Board of Trustees in early 2022 by which a Contributor – defined as an individual who has “made outstanding contributions to professional football in capacities other than playing or coaching” – will be considered with Coaches in another category. The Coach/Contributor Finalist also will be voted on for election independent of all other Finalists.

Any fan may nominate any qualified person who has been connected with pro football in any capacity simply by writing to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The only restriction is that a player and coach must have last played or coached at least five seasons before he can be considered. For example, a candidate for the 2024 class must have concluded his career not later than the 2018 season.

There is no mandatory retirement period for a Contributor. Every nomination received will be processed and forwarded to the Selection Committee.

It is important to emphasize that the Hall of Fame itself has no say whatsoever as to who is or is not elected to membership. The only function of the staff is to process the nominations as they arrive and to coordinate the annual meeting.

Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee
Arizona Kent Somers, Arizona Republic
Atlanta Darryl Ledbetter, Atlanta Journal-Constitution *
Baltimore Scott Garceau, 105.7 The Fan/WMAR-TV
Buffalo Vic Carucci, WGRZ-TV #
Carolina Darin Gantt, Carolina Panthers
Chicago Dan Pompei, The Athletic *
Cincinnati Geoff Hobson,
Cleveland Tony Grossi, Radio
Dallas Rick Gosselin, Talk of Fame Network *  
Denver Jeff Legwold, ESPN/ *
Detroit Dave Birkett, Detroit Free Press
Green Bay Pete Dougherty, Green Bay Press-Gazette
Houston John McClain, SportsRadio610 *
Indianapolis Mike Chappell, Fox 59/CBS 4
Jacksonville Sam Kouvaris,
Kansas City Vahe Gregorian, Kansas City Star
Las Vegas Frank Cooney, The Sports Xchange *
Los Angeles (Chargers) Eric Williams, Sports Illustrated
Los Angeles (Rams) Howard Balzer, SiriusXM NFL Radio *
Miami Armando Salguero,
Minnesota Mark Craig, The Minneapolis Star-Tribune
New England Ron Borges, Talk of Fame Network *
New Orleans Jeff Duncan, Times-Picayune
New York (Giants) Bob Glauber, retired, Newsday *
New York (Jets) Gary Myers, Author *
Philadelphia Paul Domowitch,
Pittsburgh Gerry Dulac, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
San Francisco Matt Maiocco, NBC Sports Bay Area
Seattle Mike Sando, The Athletic #
Tampa Bay Ira Kaufman, *
Tennessee Paul Kuharsky, #
Washington Jarrett Bell, USA Today #
PFWA Calvin Watkins, Dallas Morning News
At-Large Joel Bussert, retired, NFL Office
At-Large Mary Cay Cabot, Cleveland Plain Dealer
At-Large Jason Cole,
At-Large John Czarnecki, FOX Sports *
At-Large Tony Dungy, NBC Sports "Football Night in America" (Hall of Famer)
At-Large Dan Fouts, Broadcaster (Hall of Famer) #
At-Large Lindsay Jones, The Ringer
At-Large Clark Judge, Talk of Fame Network #
At-Large Peter King, NBC Sports #
At-Large James Lofton, CBS Sports (Hall of Famer)
At-Large Alex Marvez, SiriusXM NFL Radio
At-Large Sal Paolantonio, ESPN #
At-Large Bill Polian, SiriusXM NFL Radio (Hall of Famer) #
At-Large Lisa Salters, ESPN "Monday Night Football"
At-Large Jim Trotter, The Athletic #
At-Large Charean Williams, Pro Football Talk #
At-Large Barry Wilner, retired, Associated Press #

* Member of the Seniors Selection Committee
# Member of the Coach/Contributor Selection Committee