Six HOFers to toss coin at Super Bowl

General Published on : 1/26/2004

Six members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame - Earl Campbell, Ollie Matson, Don Maynard, Y.A. Tittle, Mike Singletary and Gene Upshaw - will represent the state of Texas as they participate in the pre-game coin toss for Super Bowl XXXVIII on Sunday.

The Super Bowl coin used for the pre-game toss traditionally is sent to the Hall of Fame.
The state of Texas has produced many NFL greats, including 24 of the 221 members enshrined in Canton, Ohio. The coin will be minted by Highland Mint and will feature the Super Bowl XXXVIII logo on one side and the two competing teams' logos— the NFC Champion Carolina Panthers and the AFC Champion New England Patriots - on the other side. 

Hall of Famer bios:

Earl Campbell | Ollie Matson | Don Maynard

Mike Singletary | Y.A. Tittle |  Gene Upshaw


Super Bowl XII Red Grange
Super Bowl XIII George Halas
Super Bowl XIV Art Rooney
Super Bowl XV Marie Lombardi
Super Bowl XVI Bobby Layne
Super Bowl XVII Elroy Hirsch
Super Bowl XVIII Bronko Nagurski
Super Bowl XIX President Ronald Reagan and Hugh McElhenny
Super Bowl XX Bart Starr
Super Bowl XXI Willie Davis
Super Bowl XXII Don Hutson
Super Bowl XXIII Nick Buoniconti, Bob Griese* and Larry Little
Super Bowl XXIV Mel Blount, Terry Bradshaw, Art Shell & Willie Wood
Super Bowl XXV Pete Rozelle
Super Bowl XXVI Chuck Noll
Super Bowl XXVII O.J. Simpson
Super Bowl XXVIII Joe Namath
Super Bowl XXIX Otto Graham, Joe Greene, Ray Nitschke & Gale Sayers
Super Bowl XXX Super Bowl Most Valuable Players (Joe Montana tossed coin)
Super Bowl XXXI Mike Ditka, Tom Flores, Tom Landry*, Chuck Noll, George Seifert and Hank Stram
Super Bowl XXXII Joe Gibbs, Eddie Robinson and Doug Williams
Super Bowl XXXIII Raymond Berry, Roosevelt Brown, Art Donovan, Frank Gifford, Sam Huff, Tom Landry, Gino Marchetti*, Don
Maynard, Lenny Moore, Jim Parker, Andy Robustelli
Super Bowl XXXIV Bud Grant, Lamar Hunt, Bobby Bell, Paul Krause, Willie Lanier, Alan Page, Jan Stenerud
Super Bowl XXXV Marcus Allen, Ottis Anderson, Tom Flores, Bill Parcells
Super Bowl XXXVI George H.W. Bush*, Roger Staubach
Super Bowl XXXVII Don Shula*, Bob Griese, Larry Csonka, Larry Little, Jim Langer, Nick Buoniconti, and Paul Warfield
Super Bowl XXXVIII Earl Campbell, Ollie Matson, Don Maynard, Mike Singletary, Y.A. Tittle, Gene Upshaw
*tossed coin