2004 Best of Yesterday and Today

General Published on : 4/28/2004

For the ninth consecutive year, the Hall of Fame presents its popular Best of Yesterday and Today series on four Saturdays during May (May 1, 8, 22, & 29). Beginning on Saturday, May 1, pro football stars past and present will take part in special three-hour autograph sessions. Sponsored by Riddell, Inc., the official helmet of the National Football League, the three-hour autograph sessions will be held in the Hall’s NFL Films Theater and will be offered at no additional charge to Hall of Fame visitors.

This year’s edition of the Best of Yesterday and Today series is sure to be yet another fan favorite. Hall of Famers scheduled to participate include Lem BarneyElvin BetheaJoe DeLamielleureMel RenfroLee Roy SelmonBilly Shaw, and Jack Youngblood. Joining the Hall of Fame all-time greats will be Green Bay Packers defensive tackle and former McKinley High School (Canton, OH) prep stars Kenny Peterson (Packers.com: Peterson bio) and Indianapolis Colts' safety Mike Doss (Colts.com: Doss bio); Tampa Bay Buccaneers defensive tackle Anthony McFarland (Buccaneers.com: McFarland bio), a rising star in the NFL is also slated to participate.  Added to the lineup is Cleveland Browns quarterback Jeff Garcia (ClevelandBrowns.comGarcia bio ) who will be on hand on May 22nd.

Each visitor attending the sessions will receive a souvenir Best of Yesterday and Today booklet and a ticket that entitles them to one autograph from each of the football personalities signing that day. While every effort will be made to accommodate ticket holders, the autograph sessions will end promptly at the scheduled time of either 12 noon or 2 p.m.

 HOF TV: Lem Barney
 HOF TV: Jack Youngblood

Related Stories:
 Best of Yesterday and Today Continues on May 8
 Barney, Youngblood kickoff 2004 Best of Yesterday and Today

Listed below is the complete schedule of appearances.


11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Lem Barney
Jack Youngblood


9:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon
Elvin Bethea
Mike Doss
Kenny Peterson



11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Joe DeLamielleure
Billy Shaw
Jeff Garcia
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Mel Renfro
Lee Roy Selmon
Anthony McFarland