AFL Championship Games

General Published on : 1/1/2005

Click on image of program for larger view.


Houston Oilers 24, Los Angeles Chargers 16
Jan. 1, 1961
George Blanda helped the Houston Oilers become the AFL’s first league champions. The quarterback/kicker passed for three touchdowns, added the extra points, and connected on a field goal to guide the Oilers to a win over the Chargers. A crowd of 32,183 in Houston’s Jeppessen Stadium witnessed the first American Football League championship game.


Houston Oilers 10, San Diego Chargers 3
Dec. 24, 1961
In a rematch of the AFL’s first title game, the Oilers again defeated the Chargers to become league champs. George Blanda hooked up with Billy Cannon on a 35-yard pass play for the game’s only touchdown. Cannon, one of the AFL’s first big-name stars, finished the game with 101 total yards from scrimmage.

Dallas Texans 20, Houston Oilers 17 (2 OT)
Dec. 23, 1962
The Dallas Texans jumped out to an early 17-point lead, only to see the two-time AFL champion Oilers rally and tie the game to force overtime. Tommy Brooker kicked a 25-yard field goal after 17 minutes, 54 seconds of sudden death to give the Texans the win and end Houston’s two-year reign as AFL champions.


San Diego Chargers 51, Boston Patriots 10
Jan. 5, 1964
Keith Lincoln put on an outstanding show for the Chargers as he rushed for 206 yards on 13 carries and added an additional 123 yards on seven pass receptions and scored two touchdowns. The Chargers ran away with a convincing 51-10 victory over the Patriots.

Buffalo Bills 20, San Diego Chargers 7
Dec. 26, 1964
Wray Carlton and Jack Kemp each scored touchdowns and Pete Gogolak kicked two field goals as the Bills defeated the reigning AFL champion Chargers 20-7. The Chargers star running back Keith Lincoln was forced out of the game with an injury sustained on a tackle by Buffalo linebacker Mike Stratton in the first quarter.


Buffalo Bills 23, San Diego Chargers 0
Dec. 26, 1965
The Bills won their second straight AFL championship by completely dominating the Chargers 23-0. The Chargers were only able to penetrate Buffalo’s 25-yard line once. The Bills’ Butch Byrd returned an interception 74 yards for a touchdown and placekicker Pete Gogolak nailed three field goals.

Kansas City Chiefs 31, Buffalo Bills 7
Jan. 1, 1967
Hall of Fame quarterback Len Dawson passed for two touchdowns and Mike Garrett ran for a pair of scores as Kansas City defeated Buffalo to keep the Bills from winning an unprecedented third straight AFL championship. With the win, the Chiefs earned the right to represent the AFL in Super Bowl I.


Oakland Raiders 40, Houston Oilers 7
Dec. 31, 1967
Quarterback Daryle Lamonica passed for two touchdowns, one in a fake field goal situation, and George Blanda kicked four field goals as the Raiders beat the Oilers to win its first AFL title in team history.

New York Jets 27, Oakland Raiders 23
Dec. 29, 1968
Joe Namath’s three touchdown passes sparked the Jets to a fourth quarter victory over the defending champion Raiders. New York kicker Jim Turner contributed with two field goals. The game was played in front of 62,627 fans, the largest crowd ever for an AFL title game.


Kansas City Chiefs 17, Oakland Raiders 7
Jan. 4, 1970
Kansas City’s defense swarmed Oakland and forced four interceptions, including three in the final quarter, to help the Chiefs to the win. One of the interceptions included a 62-yard return for a touchdown by Hall of Fame cornerback Emmitt Thomas.