If elected...special notes on 2008 finalists - by team

Enshrinement Published on : 1/15/2008


The Minnesota Vikings and Washington Redskins have three finalists, and the Denver Broncos and Kansas City Chiefs have two. The Chicago Bears, San Diego Chargers, San Francisco 49ers, Chicago/St. Louis/Arizona Cardinals, Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, Miami Dolphins, Buffalo Bills, and the New England Patriots each have one finalist who spent all or a significant part of their careers with that team.

If elected. . .

Cris Carter, Randall McDaniel and/or Gary Zimmerman would be the eighth, ninth, and /or 10th member of the Minnesota Vikings elected to the Hall of Fame. They would join Carl Eller, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Alan Page, Fran Tarkenton, and Ron Yary.  | VIEW GALLERY OF VIKINGS HALL OF FAMERS

Art Monk

Richard Dent would be the 27th long-time Chicago Bear to be added to the Hall of Fame honor roll. Doug Atkins, George Blanda, Dick Butkus, George Connor, Mike Ditka, John “Paddy” Driscoll, Jim Finks, Dan Fortmann, Bill George, Harold “Red” Grange, George Halas, Dan Hampton, Ed Healey, Bill Hewitt, Stan Jones, Sid Luckman, Link Lyman, George McAfee, George Musso, Bronko Nagurski, Walter Payton, Gale Sayers, Mike Singletary, Joe Stydahar, George Trafton, and Clyde “Bulldog” Turner are the others.

Fred Dean would join six previously elected San Diego Chargers Hall of Famers: Lance Alworth, Dan Fouts, Sid Gillman, Charlie Joiner, Ron Mix, and Kellen Winslow.

Fred Dean also played a significant part of his career with the San Francisco 49ers. He would join 11 other 49ers Hall of Fame members including Jimmy Johnson, Ronnie Lott, Hugh McElhenny, Joe Montana, Leo Nomellini, Joe Perry, Bob St. Clair, Y.A. Tittle, Bill Walsh, Dave Wilcox, and Steve Young.

Marshall Goldberg would be the 12th Chicago/St. Louis/Arizona Cardinals Hall of Famer. Charles Bidwill, Jimmy Conzelman, Dan Dierdorf, John “Paddy” Driscoll, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Ollie Matson, Ernie Nevers, Jackie Smith, Charley Trippi, Roger Wehrli, and Larry Wilson are the other Cardinals Hall of Famers. | VIEW PHOTO GALLERY OF CARDINALS HALL OF FAMERS

Randy Gradishar and/or Gary Zimmerman would join John Elway to become the second and/or third members of the Denver Broncos elected to the Hall of Fame.

Randall McDaniel

Darrell Green, Russ Grimm and/or Art Monk would be the 16th, 17th and/or 18th Washington Redskins Hall of Fame members. They would join George Allen, Cliff Battles, Sammy Baugh, Bill Dudley, Albert Glen “Turk” Edwards, Ray Flaherty, Joe Gibbs, Ken Houston, Sam Huff, Sonny Jurgensen, George Preston Marshall, Wayne Millner, Bobby Mitchell, John Riggins, and Charley Taylor. | VIEW PHOTO GALLERY OF REDSKINS HALL OF FAMERS

Ray Guy would be the 14th Oakland/Los Angeles Raider elected to the Hall. Marcus Allen, Fred Biletnikoff, George Blanda, Willie Brown, Dave Casper, Al Davis, Mike Haynes, Ted Hendricks, Howie Long, John Madden, Jim Otto, Art Shell, and Gene Upshaw are the other Raiders Hall of Famers. | VIEW PHOTO GALLERY OF RAIDERS HALL OF FAMERS

Bob Kuechenberg would be the 10th long-time member of the Miami Dolphins to be elected. Nick Buoniconti, Larry Csonka, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Dan Marino, Don Shula, Dwight Stephenson, and Paul Warfield are the other Dolphins Hall of Fame members. | VIEW GALLERY OF DOLPHINS HALL OF FAMERS

Andre Reed would be the seventh Buffalo Bills Hall of Fame member. He would join Joe DeLamielleure, Jim Kelly, Marv Levy, Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, and Thurman Thomas. | VIEW PHOTO GALLERY OF BILLS HALL OF FAMERS

Derrick Thomas and/or Emmitt Thomas would be the eighth and/or ninth Kansas City Chiefs Hall of Fame members. They would join Bobby Bell, Buck Buchanan, Len Dawson, Lamar Hunt, Willie Lanier, Jan Stenerud, and Hank Stram. | VIEW GALLERY OF CHIEFS HALL OF FAMERS

Andre Tippett would be the fourth New England Patriots player elected to the Hall of Fame. He would join Nick Buoniconti, John Hannah, and Mike Haynes.