2011 Finalists notes: HOFers by position to change

2011 Finalists notes: HOFers by position to change

See All News

If elected …

Jerome Bettis and/or Marshall Faulk and/or Curtis Martin would be the 28th and/or 29th and/or 30th modern-era running back elected to the Hall of Fame.  The other modern-era running backs in the Hall of Fame include Marcus Allen, Jim Brown, Earl Campbell, Larry Csonka, Eric Dickerson, Tony Dorsett, Frank Gifford, Franco Harris, Paul Hornung, John Henry Johnson, Leroy Kelly, Floyd Little, Ollie Matson, Hugh McElhenny, Lenny Moore, Marion Motley, Walter Payton, Joe Perry, John Riggins, Barry Sanders, Gale Sayers, O.J. Simpson, Emmitt Smith, Jim Taylor, Thurman Thomas, Charley Trippi, and Doak Walker.

Tim Brown, and/or Cris Carter, and/or Andre Reed would be the 22nd, 23rd and/or 24th modern-era receivers in the Hall of Fame.  Other Hall of Fame modern-era receivers include Lance Alworth, Raymond Berry, Fred Biletnikoff, Tom Fears, Bob Hayes, Elroy Hirsch (also a halfback), Michael Irvin, Charlie Joiner, Steve Largent, Dante Lavelli, James Lofton, Don Maynard, Tommy McDonald, Bobby Mitchell (also a halfback), Art Monk, Pete Pihos, Jerry Rice, John Stallworth, Lynn Swann, Charley Taylor (also a halfback), and Paul Warfield.

Richard Dent, and/or Chris Doleman (also LB) and/or Charles Haley (also LB) would become the 16th, 17th and/or 18th modern-era defensive ends to be elected to the Hall of Fame.  Other Hall of Fame defensive ends are Doug Atkins, Elvin Bethea, Willie Davis, Fred Dean, Carl Eller, Len Ford, Dan Hampton (DT-DE), Deacon Jones, Howie Long, Gino Marchetti, Andy Robustelli, Lee Roy Selmon, Bruce Smith, Reggie White, and Jack Youngblood.

Dermontti Dawson would become the ninth modern-era center to be elected to the Hall of Fame.  Other Hall of Fame centers include Chuck Bednarik (also LB), Frank Gatski, Jim Langer, Bruce Matthews (G-T-C), Jim Otto, Jim Ringo, Dwight Stephenson, and Mike Webster.

Chris Hanburger, and/or Charles Haley (also DE), and/or Les Richter would be the 21st, and/or 22nd, and/or 23rd modern-era Hall of Fame linebackers joining Chuck Bednarik (also C) Bobby Bell (also DE), Nick Buoniconti, Dick Butkus, Harry Carson, George Connor (also DT-OT), Bill George, Jack Ham, Ted Hendricks, Sam Huff, Rickey Jackson (also DE), Jack Lambert, Willie Lanier, Ray Nitschke, Joe Schmidt, Mike Singletary, Lawrence Taylor, Derrick Thomas, Andre Tippett, and Dave Wilcox.

Cortez Kennedy would be the 14th defensive tackle elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Buck Buchanan, Art Donovan, Joe Greene, Dan Hampton (also DE), Henry Jordan, Bob Lilly, Leo Nomellini, Merlin Olsen, Alan Page, John Randle, Ernie Stautner, Arnie Weinmeister, and Randy White.

Willie Roaf would become the 19th tackle to earn election into the Hall of Fame. Other Hall of Fame tackles include Bob Brown, Roosevelt Brown, Lou Creekmur (also G), Dan Dierdorf, Forrest Gregg (also G), Lou Groza (also PK), Stan Jones (also G-DT), Bruce Matthews (also G-C), Mike McCormack, Ron Mix, Anthony Muñoz, Jim Parker (also G), Bob St. Clair, Art Shell, Jackie Slater, Rayfield Wright, Ron Yary, and Gary Zimmerman.

Ed Sabol would be the 19th contributor inducted into the Hall of Fame. He would join Bert Bell, Charles Bidwill, Joe Carr, Al Davis, Jim Finks, George Halas, Lamar Hunt, Earl “Curly” Lambeau, Tim Mara, Wellington Mara, George Preston Marshall, Hugh “Shorty” Ray, Dan Reeves, Art Rooney, Dan Rooney, Pete Rozelle, Tex Schramm, and Ralph Wilson, Jr.

Deion Sanders would become the 15th modern-era cornerback elected to the Hall of Fame.  He would join Herb Adderley, Lem Barney, Mel Blount, Willie Brown, Darrell Green, Mike Haynes, Jimmy Johnson, Dick “Night Train” Lane, Dick LeBeau, Ronnie Lott (also S), Mel Renfro (also S), Emmitt Thomas, Roger Wehrli, and Rod Woodson (also S).
Shannon Sharpe would be the eighth tight end elected to the Hall of Fame.  Other Hall of Fame tight ends include Dave Casper, Mike Ditka, John Mackey, Ozzie Newsome, Charlie Sanders, Jackie Smith, and Kellen Winslow.


<<<Back to main story
Back to news